Hurray! It’s finished!

Hi everyone,

I hope you have all woken up to bright sunshine this morning. I have! It’s glorious outside but still very chilly. The sun has got it’s hat on and I’m very pleased to announce that my crocheted ripple blanket is finally finished.

CIMG3124

I’ve let you all have lots of sneaky peeks over the past year and a bit since I started this monster project and it has kept me so cosy while I have crocheted beneath it during the winter evenings Smile I am really happy with the way the edges stayed straight and flat. There was no need to block the finished blanket.

CIMG3125

The other edges have ripples in keeping with the pattern. I toyed with the idea of having a border to straighten around all four sides but, no, I’m sticking with the ripples.

CIMG3126

Hopefully, you can now see what a mammoth blanket it is, completely covering the sofa. I won’t be using it as a sofa cover of course Smile

CIMG3127

As I finished off the ends, I thought these looked really lovely and couldn’t resist another photo.

CIMG3123

This is what I have left from 1600 grams of yarn. What will they become?

CIMG3135

Well, I have a few little bundles of inspiration in here. This will be perfect for playing around with scraps and I can’t wait to get started.

book

If you’d like to make a ripple blanket, the pattern I followed is here. Lucy’s blog is fantastic and the pattern is perfect!! This is the first pattern I have ever followed. I’m a complete novice at crochet and look what happened. So, if you are sitting there thinking “I don’t think I could do that”, you could! The only thing I would say is, if you use the pattern I’ve linked to, use a bigger hook just for the first chain. It needs to be slacker so the ripple lies flat.

I hope I’ve managed to brighten your day with this explosion of colour Smile

I’m linking up with the February Made It Challenge over at Woolhogs. It’s just a bit of fun but if you want to win a gorgeous prize, enter your own February finishes. Maryanne has pulled out all of the stops again to bring us all a fine bunch projects to ogle. Hop across and take a look for yourselves NOW! If you want to enter, there’s only a few days left so get a move on 😉

Have fun this weekend!

Avis x

Leave a comment

47 Comments

  1. Congratulations on your wonderful mammoth blanket. You’ve done an amazing job. Your blanket is gorgeous. 🙂

    Reply
  2. claire93

     /  February 8, 2014

    oh wow! a huge project indeed but so beautiful. Let’s hope the weather stays chilly for a while so you can snuggle up very often ^^ Looking forward to seeing how you use all your leftovers – I have every faith it’ll be something very zany ^^

    Reply
  3. It’s lovely!! You must feel great now that it’s done!! I have the same book for “non-squares” but haven’t done anything with it. You’ll figure out something beautiful to do with those scraps!

    Reply
  4. Just beautiful!

    Reply
  5. What a beautiful project finished and the colors are gorgeous. Yummy! Very nice work!

    Reply
    • Thanks! it’s taken a while to do as I put it away after the winter last year. It was the perfect project to drag back out of the cupboard to finish on the cold evenings 🙂

      Reply
  6. The colours are so beautiful, really complimentary to each other. Can I ask which yarn you used?

    Reply
    • Hi, Welcome to my blog 🙂 I went for cheap yarn as I haven’t crocheted anything as big as this before. It is Stylecraft DK and it is lovely to work with.

      Reply
  7. This certainly doesn’t look like a “novice” project to me – lovely work!

    Reply
    • No, honestly! If you can do a basic treble you can do this. This photo tutorial pattern shows really close up (even how to do the treble) and once I’d done one row, I didn’t need to look back at the pattern at all. that’s the best bit about this pattern. It looks much more difficult than it is.

      Reply
      • Deceptively easy patterns are my favorite! I just meant that I don’t think you can call yourself a “novice” at crochet anymore after making such a lovely project. 🙂 The colors are amazing, too!

        Reply
        • Oh I see 😆 I used to prefer knitting as I’ve been doing that for decades but crochet grows so quickly. I’m shopping for more yarn as I type. No idea what to do with it yet LOL.

          Reply
  8. Teje

     /  February 8, 2014

    Hi Avis! You did great job with this blanket! It’s so beautiful and I love the wavy pattern! I remember when you started and tried to start too but never managed to continue!
    Very good that you have some little balls left because they are just perfect to enjoy that book you have there! It looks really exciting! Hugs! x Teje

    Reply
    • Hi Teje, I’ve just got myself comfortable on the sofa under my blanket. I have my crochet hook in my hand and the book on my knee. I need to read the beginning of the book carefully before starting to crochet as it uses the American version of the stitches but I think I’ll get used to it 🙂

      Reply
  9. Wow Avis, it looks brilliant. Makes me even keener to get going on mine…. Hope it turns out as good.

    Reply
    • Well, I’m about to do a Klimt style one like yours next, unless I change my mind before the yarn arrives 🙂 I’m sure you’ll make a lovely ripple!! Remember, larger hook for the starting chain 😉

      Reply
  10. Fantastic! I hadn’t expected it to be that huge. 🙂 I’m still fighting with my ripple scarf. 😉

    Reply
  11. I really like the colours … looks so nice covering your sofa… lovely! 🙂

    Reply
  12. how wonderful, such luscious colours

    Reply
  13. How beautiful! I’ve always wanted to begin to crochet, and after this post I’ve been very inspired again! What a great creation! And such nice colour choices as well 🙂

    Reply
  14. Congrats on the finish! It’s amazingly large! Great colors! I love the photo of the ends you cut off as you wove them in! haha

    Reply
    • Thank you 🙂 I’ve just made my very first motif from the book. It only took me three hours!! because I had to read all of the intro and learn new stitches. It was fun!

      Reply
  15. That is fabulous! I love the colours you used for it.

    That particular pattern is on my list of ‘things that I want to make’ so I’ll remember the tip about the starting chains 🙂

    Reply
  16. Isabel's Needleworks

     /  February 9, 2014

    Wow Beautiful ! and it is an explosion of colour. Congrats on finishing the ripple blanket. I can’t wait to see what you are working on next 🙂
    Izz

    Reply
  17. it’s beautiful, well done! love the colours

    Reply
  18. OMG.. the blanket is so pretty.. Thank you for the pattern link Avis.. and i’m sure it will keep you warm. 😀 loving the colours too..

    Reply
  19. Now I remember!! I love the “ripples”…bit like chevrons! It will keep you warm and feeling quite cheerful! 🙂

    Reply
  20. My jaw is on the floor!! WOW, not only is it absolutely beautiful (the colours are just so perfect) I am bowled over at the sheer size of it! Congrats xxx

    Reply
  1. The FEB Made It – Voting is almost open, but wait… | woolhogs

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Join 487 other subscribers
  • My Tutorials

  • Visit my quilting blog

    Oh Sew Tempting blog
  • My version of the Loyal Union Sampler in progress.

  • Recent Posts

  • Crafty Eye Candy

  • Previous posts

  • My community

  • Copyright 2011 – 2019

    The content of this blog including all text, photos, tutorials etc. belong to me. Thank you for respecting my copyright and always linking back to the original source.

  • Meta