Pansies–Stage 8

Hello everyone!

It’s time to share progress on my latest SAL project. It’s called Pansies by The Craft Collection.

This is where I was up to last time.

Stage 7b

Unfortunately, it’s been a case of one step forward and two steps back this time. I’m showing the complete design again so you can see what I’m going on about.

IMG_20240331_142421069_HDR

Something suddenly dawned on me. I was stitching the lilac pansy near the bottom. It was going very well.

IMG_20240331_142435895_HDR

But why is there a lilac pansy in this design? It sticks out like a sore thumb so how come I didn’t notice it before? To be fair, the package photo isn’t a good colour match for the real stitching but even so, why have an odd lilac pansy in there? Well, there isn’t any more. Not in my version. It’s gone! I had to frog it LOL. I’ve decided to replace it with a yellow one instead.

Also, do you remember the pink petals in the second group of flowers from the top? The last group is supposed to have the same pink.

IMG_20240331_142451639_HDR

I’ve frogged those as well Open-mouthed smile. If I couldn’t get used to seeing the lilac odd ball I knew I didn’t want to look at those pink petals either and, the bottom group of flowers which I haven’t stitched yet, is supposed to have the same pink which is brighter than Barbie pink. I don’t mind pink. It’s not my favourite colour but it’s OK. However, I’ve never seen pansies with 1960’s bubble gum pink petals before so they’re gone! That means I’ve now completed less than I showed in the last update but at least I’m happy with it. I’m wondering if I lost my motivation for stitching this design because of those pink petals. I’ve made good progress since I got rid of them.

As you can see, the lilac odd ball is now yellow.

Lilac swapped to yellow

The package photo shows this is a vertical design. I’ve been thinking of making it into a wall hanging when it’s finished but if you have any other suggestions I’m all ears.

Helen needs to take a break from the SAL for a while. Hopefully she’ll be back soon. In the meantime, please visit the other blogs that are taking part in this SAL. There are so many different projects to enjoy. The participants live all over the world so you may need to allow for time differences. We’re posting today at local time.
Avis
, Claire, Gun, Christina, Kathy, Margaret, Jackie, Sunny, Megan,

Deborah, Sharon, Daisy, Cathie, Linda, MaryMargaret, Cindy

Our next updates will be posted on the 28th April 2024.

About the SAL

Please note this SAL is not accepting any more new members until further notice but this is what it’s all about anyway. This SAL (Stitch Along) is slightly different to other SALs in that we don’t all stitch the same design at the same rate. We choose ONE unfinished project, or ONE new one, and show progress of its completion over a series of three weekly updates. There are no deadlines and no set amount to stitch. The result is that the space in our drawers full of WIPs (works in progress) is gradually being freed up to store lots of new crafty goodness. It’s surprising how much motivation I’ve gained from being in this SAL.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. witchylin

     /  April 7, 2024

    I can see why you changed the colours. I agree the lilac does look odd with the strong shades of the the other pansies. I’d stick with the wall hanging if I was making it but other people could have some bright ideas.

    Reply
  2. claire93

     /  April 7, 2024

    oh dear to lots of frogging this time but good decision to get rid of the bubblegum pink and that odd pansy.

    Reply
  3. Cathie J

     /  April 7, 2024

    I like the changes you made. Knowing me I would have left the pattern as is, especially the pink as you had already backstitched, but you have to make it work for you. I would stick with a wall hanging as it is so long.

    Reply
    • I was very careful with the seam ripper and managed to leave the backstitching in place. I actually thought this might be a pattern I wouldn’t need to change but I couldn’t help myself.

      Reply
  4. I agree with your changes, sometimes frogging is worth it. What about a bell pull wall hanging.

    Reply
  5. Anonymous

     /  April 7, 2024

    I love how you reworked the pattern — there’s no reason to keep stitching something you don’t like! I think bell pull is a good idea, too.

    Reply
  6. Christina

     /  April 7, 2024

    Lol agreed, those lilac and pink flowers were a no go. It’s going to look better with this changes for sure!

    Reply
  7. As long as you are happy it´s okey 🙂

    Reply
  8. I would have never dared to stray off chart but I really like your change and I think it’s well worth it!! Might be too old fashioned but perhaps a table runner for spring ?

    Reply
  9. Better to frog now than get it all done and end up hating it. I know it is frustrating but sometimes so necessary.

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Join 487 other subscribers
  • My Tutorials

  • Visit my quilting blog

    Oh Sew Tempting blog
  • My version of the Loyal Union Sampler in progress.

  • Recent Posts

  • Crafty Eye Candy

  • Previous posts

  • My community

  • Copyright 2011 – 2019

    The content of this blog including all text, photos, tutorials etc. belong to me. Thank you for respecting my copyright and always linking back to the original source.

  • Meta