Stage 7–Pansies

Hello everyone!

It’s time to share progress on my latest SAL project. It’s called Pansies by The Craft Collection.

This is where I was up to last time.

Stage 6

I finished the next two flowers. I really had to push myself to stitch this time but I’m pleased I did. This is how it looked before the back stitching.

Stage 7a

And here it is after the back stitching has been added. I haven’t picked it up again since I took this photo a few days ago.

Stage 7b

There’s one more large group of flowers left to stitch. I’m already looking forward to moving onto another project (don’t know which one yet) but I’ll definitely finish this one first.

Sadly, Heidi has decided to leave the SAL. Hopefully, she’ll continue to stitch behind the scenes Smile.

Please visit the other blogs that are taking part in this SAL. There are so many different projects to enjoy and the participants live all over the world so you may need to allow for time differences. We’re posting today at local time.
Avis
, Claire, Gun, Christina, Kathy, Margaret, Jackie, Sunny, Megan,

Deborah, Sharon, Daisy, Cathie, Linda, Helen, MaryMargaret, Cindy

Our next updates will be posted on the 7th April 2024.

About the SAL

Please note this SAL is not accepting any more new members until further notice but this is what it’s all about anyway. This SAL (Stitch Along) is slightly different to other SALs in that we don’t all stitch the same design at the same rate. We choose ONE unfinished project, or ONE new one, and show progress of its completion over a series of three weekly updates. There are no deadlines and no set amount to stitch. The result is that the space in our drawers full of WIPs (works in progress) is gradually being freed up to store lots of new crafty goodness. It’s surprising how much motivation I’ve gained from being in this SAL.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. I for one am glad you organise the SAL because while xstitch has been a hobby I keep going back to for 20+ years, there are timea where I’ve not felt like it and yet still wanted to make progress so I could move on to a new project. It’s really helped me motivate myself to finish over starting new stuff, hopefully not boring the other members too much with an endless amount of updates with the same project 😂

    You’re making very good progress on the pansies and they do look nice 🙂 I hope you either don’t have too much left before another or that it can go quite quickly.

    Reply
    • There are only 3 more flowers left to stitch so it should be done in a couple of updates.

      I love to start new projects but I know I’d never go back to something if I put it away. Starting something new is my reward for finishing a project. I do allow myself to sew and knit at the same time but again, I finish before starting something else.

      Reply
  2. claire93

     /  March 17, 2024

    The purple and orange pansies are my favourites. Keep up the good progress Avis!
    And to add to Lindashee’s comment . . . I used to do nothing but xtitch, and have several projects on the go, but since discovering other crafts, xstitch fell by the wayside. I too love the fact this SAL helps me keep motivated to work regularly on one project and see it through from start to finish.

    Reply
    • There are times when I enjoy all the different crafts and I just go with what suits me at the time. However, I make sure I do some cross stitching every three weeks so I have something to show in SAL updates. If it wasn’t for the SAL I’d have a drawer full of uncompleted kits which wouldn’t be good.

      Reply
  3. I love Pansies and love seeing them each time round but I am longing to see the finished projects with a whole line of pansies. x

    Reply
  4. Love these new pansies, but then I love all pansies! I need to find some seeds and get some started.

    Reply
    • I love them too. I grow them from seeds every year and some from last year have overwintered and self seeded in the garden. However, the ones I sowed last month have failed to germinate.

      Reply
  5. Pansies have such a happy face bright and cheerful. I love seeing the different colours.

    Reply
  6. Cathie J

     /  March 17, 2024

    I am so glad you pushed yourself to work on those beautiful pansies. The backstitching makes such a difference.

    Reply
  7. Such a beautiful project. I needed their bright cheerful faces today. Just what the doctor ordered 🙂

    Reply
  8. Love the pansies. Makes me think of spring. Saturdays snowstorm can go and hide somewhere else 🙂

    Reply
  9. I love it when the backstitching is added as it brings everything into focus. I am always wanting to start a new project so the SAL ensures that I get something finished! Just to let you know that I will be unable to post next time as I will be away with little (if any) internet access. See you in 6 weeks.

    Reply
    • It’s definitely a good idea to finish a project before starting something new. My drawer of kits waiting to be started is getting smaller, slowly but surely. I can’t remember the last time I bought a kit and the SAL has proved I didn’t need to buy more. Enjoy your break away 🙂

      Reply
  10. Love the pansies, it’s such a cheerful design.

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Join 487 other subscribers
  • My Tutorials

  • Visit my quilting blog

    Oh Sew Tempting blog
  • My version of the Loyal Union Sampler in progress.

  • Recent Posts

  • Crafty Eye Candy

  • Previous posts

  • My community

  • Copyright 2011 – 2019

    The content of this blog including all text, photos, tutorials etc. belong to me. Thank you for respecting my copyright and always linking back to the original source.

  • Meta