A new beginning….Motif #1

Hi everyone,

I hope you are all having a lovely day!

After finishing my ripple blanket last week, I decided to try some new patterns with the left over yarn. I haven’t done many different crochet stitches before, so the book I received as a Christmas gift is going to be put to good use. I spent a good couple of hours reading the introduction pages, something which I don’t usually do, and I found it full of good advice and instructions with photos. You can see the book in my previous post here.

Anyway, I have already finished a couple of motifs and this is my attempt at #1. There are 144 different motifs to try and I plan to make them all to improve my pattern reading and crochet skills. I have no plans regarding what to do with them all when I finish, and I imagine that will by quite a while from now as I don’t have very many yarn scraps really, especially lovely bright colours like those on my blanket.

Hopefully, you’ll like what you see. Look out for #2 coming soon!

CIMG3136

Last week I made another chicken which you can see on my other blog Sewing Beside the Sea. I’ve also included a photo of my latest easy to make Christmas decoration. Yep, I’m well aware it is only February Winking smile Take a look at it and if you’d like me to put together a tutorial, just let me know. It’s never too early to start preparing for Christmas (so my friends say).

I’d also like to give a shout-out to my dear friend Teje who has just published a wonderful pattern for a crocheted scarf on Craftsy. The pattern is full of clear photographs to show you every step of the way, as well as having written instructions, and I can’t wait to make it myself! You can find out how to get the pattern from Teje’s post by clicking here. Here is a sneaky peek. You’ll have to go to Teje’s blog for lots more colourful photos and to find out who is modelling the scarf. I wonder…. Enjoy!

IMG_6000

Happy crafting!

Avis x

Next Post
Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Hi Avis! I’m happy you found time to start with your book! Motif #1 looks beautiful! When you have done all/many of them from the book, I’m sure you find a way to gather them for amazing throw-shawl-blanket. Thank you so much for your sweet words for my crochet pattern! Hugs! x Teje

    Reply
  2. Good start! 🙂

    Reply
  3. ooh, sounds like a fun challenge! i will enjoy watching you as you go. I always say that crochet is really easy as it’s basically one stitch, the only difference is the amount of times you wrap the yarn round and the amount of times you pull the loop through. Different stitches are made by placing the hook in different places, you’ll be a pro in no time.

    Reply
  4. Sounds great – hope you have as much fun making as we will from following the progress! 🙂

    Reply
  5. I haven’t got that book so I shall watch with interest to see if I should get it 😉

    Reply
  6. Beautiful Crochet work! You do really nice work.

    Reply
  7. ooohh.. this is pretty.. 😀

    Reply
  8. You have a real knack for crocheting, your work is so neat and uniform.. I can’t wait to see more…happy stitching…Izz

    Reply

Leave a Reply

