Highlands Landscape – Stage 6

It’s almost the end of March already! Our clocks went forward by an hour this weekend which means we’ll have lighter evenings and more time in the daylight to enjoy being out in the garden. I can’t remember the last time we had so many consecutive sunny days. Spring is definitely here.

Here’s another update on the Highlands Landscape. This is where I was up to last time.

Stage 15

I continued to stitch in my usual fashion along the bottom but needed to roll the fabric further up. That means the top won’t be visible again until it’s off the frame.

Stage 16

One section at a time. More thistles and grass.

Stage 17 This is where I’m up to now.

Stage 18There’s still one more row to stitch in the foreground but it’s only 90 x 22 stitches instead of 90 x 30. That’s still a lot of stitching so I’m going to make the last of the crosses my target for the next update and then the final stage will be the back stitched detail, two stages from now. It should be finished some time in May.

Please take a look at the latest SAL project updates from the rest of the group by clicking the links below. We live all over the world so you may need to allow for time differences. Posting takes place every third Sunday, local time. Our next updates will be posted on the 19th April 2020.

Avis, Claire, Gun, Carole, Sue, Constanze, Christina, Kathy, Margaret, Cindy, Heidi, Jackie, Sunny, Hayley, Megan, Deborah, Mary Margaret, Renee, Carmela, Jocelyn, Sharon, Daisy, Anne, Connie, AJ, Jenny, Laura, Cathie, Linda

About the SAL

Please note this SAL is not accepting any more new members until further notice.

Leave a comment

25 Comments

  1. Great progress, I love the colours in this one, very highland-ish! Looking forward to seeing all the back-stitching.

    Reply
  2. This will be a stunning piece once the bs is added Avis.

    Reply
  3. Gorgeous Avis, I love the colours and such a peaceful scene xx

    Reply
  4. You have made a lot of progress. I love this piece. I am looking forward to the next two updates.

    Reply
  5. This is such a peaceful piece to look at. The purple just pops out so softly!

    Reply
  6. I’d love to be there in that little cottage at the moment. It looks so peaceful and relaxing 🙂

    Reply
  7. Jocelyn Thurston

     /  March 30, 2020

    I love how the purple…thistles or heather, stand out. Pretty colours for such a pleasant scene. Lots of beautiful stitches in this one, Avis.

    Reply
  8. It just keeps looking more and more lovely! I like your idea of making a goal, maybe I will do that next time:)

    Reply
  9. Looking great! Today we have a snowy weather here in Uppland, Sweden, and the wind is very chilly. I don´t like it at all 😦 🙂

    Reply
    • I’ve got young tomato and pepper plants to care for so I don’t want any of your snow here. We’ve had cold wind from the north for several days and chilly nights but lovely spring daytimes. Stay warm!

      Reply
  10. Laura White

     /  March 30, 2020

    Great progress an beautiful colors!

    Reply
  11. It’s looking gorgeous !

    Reply
  12. Avis, how exciting to be so close to a finish! This looks amazing. Beautiful work!

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Join 487 other subscribers
  • My Tutorials

  • Visit my quilting blog

    Oh Sew Tempting blog
  • My version of the Loyal Union Sampler in progress.

  • Recent Posts

  • Crafty Eye Candy

  • Previous posts

  • My community

  • Copyright 2011 – 2019

    The content of this blog including all text, photos, tutorials etc. belong to me. Thank you for respecting my copyright and always linking back to the original source.

  • Meta