Happy New Year!

Good morning everybody. There are so many things that I should have been doing over the last couple of days but I got a little distracted which is so unlike me (not). I finally made the decision to buy 28 count black evenweave fabric for the Cirque des Cercles design mentioned in my last post. I’ll be stitching it in DMC shade 111. I may live to regret using black fabric but my trial with my tiny LED reading lamp clamped to the embroidery frame worked a treat. In fact, after a while I didn’t seem to need the light and was working by feeling the underside of the fabric with the needle.

Materials ordered online take time to arrive, especially at this time of year, so how could I possibly resist lifting a little motif from the chart and stitching it as my trial on royal blue fabric? So now I have a lovely card in my stash to send to someone this year. I used pale blue thread on royal blue aida.

CIMG3068

I can’t wait to get started on my new project with Claire!

Best wishes for 2014 to all of my lovely readers around the world. Thank you so much for all of your comments and emails. It is always a pleasure to receive them Smile

Avis x

Previous Post
Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. witchylin

     /  December 31, 2013

    The card looks wonderful Avis. The dark background really makes the stitching stand out. Now why would you want to do anything else other than crafty things at this time of the year?
    Have another lovely crafting year and keep writing your blogs, they are fun and interesting to read, not to mention all the hints and ideas.

    Reply
    • Ha-ha! Exactly, why do boring snoring things when there is sewing to do instead? Don’t worry, I love writing as much as I do reading all the other wonderful blogs. Trouble is, there is far too much inspiration out there πŸ˜† Thank you for all of your support and Happy New Year to you!

      Reply
  2. Great idea – I prefer a dark background for these motifs, too. It is a little tricky to see, but once you find your rhythm it’s almost stitching itself, like you said. πŸ™‚
    Happy New Year, Jule

    Reply
    • I have tried darker fabric several times now and always found it to be difficult on the eyes.I’m so pleased I decided to try once more with the light. I’ve even bought new batteries for it today so that means I’m committed πŸ˜‰
      Best wishes for 2014!

      Reply
  3. can’t wait to see how this masterpieces will look like..
    Happy New year to you.. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  4. claire93

     /  December 31, 2013

    you’ll find black evenweave slightly more challenging than aida but I know you’re going to enjoy yourself.
    Your little card really is very pretty . . . I can see you becoming a dark fabric addict for 2014 ^^

    Reply
  5. Lovely card. That motif looks pretty on the darker fabric πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. Delightful! Love the colors.

    Reply
  7. wonderful looking forward to seeing your new stitching come to life – I have been using the DMC 111 in my wrapped presents stitchery – it is really a lovely colour

    Reply
    • I must pop in and take a look. I have so many lovely blogs to catch up on. It is a very exciting start to 2014. Happy New Year to you and your family and thank you for all the support in 2013 πŸ™‚ Avis x

      Reply
  8. Love the card, can’t wait to see Cirque des Cercles…

    Reply
  9. Thank you for the link πŸ™‚

    Reply
  1. Cross Stitch Sampler and a SAL | Isabel's Needleworks

Leave a Reply

