Garden Shed – stage 13

Here is my SAL update on the Cut Thru Garden Shed cross stitch kit. Designer credits are here. If you need a reminder of how it’ll all turn out in the end, you’ll find a photo in this post.

This is where I was up to last time. No idea why the background is so blue.

Stage 12b

Here’s my next splodgy square. The raincoat and brolly are complete. That’s easy to see………but what’s that in the middle?

Stage 13a

It’s much clearer now. Did you get it before scrolling down?

Stage 13b

I’ve been doing a few jobs around the house and garden lately and I’ve been talking to my 14 healthy sunflower plants every day. I would’ve had 15 if the stupid wood pigeon hadn’t attempted acrobatics on top of one plant. He snapped the top six inches off, including the flower bud! Anyway, this morning I went for my usual wander around the garden and found one of the buds was opening. Sunflowers make me smile.

IMG_20190629_091109832 As you can see, it’s a very healthy specimen. It isn’t fully open yet but it’s looking good so far. This is a small variety called Helios Flame. It stands about 30 inches tall. I’ve got all the plants in a bed quite close together and haven’t needed to stake them yet. I’ll see how they go as the flowers open because they’ll be quite heavy. Hopefully the seeds will develop and the birds (pigeons are not invited) can have a feast. Do you have a favourite, easy to grow flower? If you have any suggestions I might give them a try next year.

Please enjoy the latest SAL project updates from the rest of the group by clicking the links below. We live all over the world so you may need to allow for time differences. Posting takes place every third Sunday, local time. Our next updates will be posted on the 21st July 2019.

Avis, Claire, Gun, Carole, Sue, Constanze, Christina, Kathy, Margaret, Cindy, Helen, Linda, Heidi, Jackie, Sunny, Hayley, Megan, Deborah, Clare, Mary Margaret, Renee, Jenny, Carmela, Jocelyn, Sharon

About the SAL

This SAL (Stitch Along) is slightly different to other SALs in that we don’t all stitch the same design at the same rate. We choose ONE unfinished project, or ONE new one, and show progress of its completion over a series of three weekly updates. There are no deadlines and no set amount to stitch. The result is that the space in our drawers full of WIPs (works in progress) is gradually being freed up to store lots of new crafty goodness. It’s surprising how much motivation I’ve gained from being in this SAL. If you’d like to finish a project you’ve left unfinished for a while, or start a new one with us, you can join us by leaving a request in the comments below or sending me an email. The address is on the right of this page. I’ll send you a few simple rules to agree.

Leave a comment

42 Comments

  1. I would not have guessed what it was without the back stitching. Fantastic progress! Your sunflower is gorgeous.

    Reply
  2. The garden shed is coming right along! Good job!

    The sunflower is pretty, I imagine a bed of them would be quite cheerful! I have little pockets of them around the yard where the chipmunks have stored seeds, but we have been so lacking in sunlight that they are still just seedlings.

    I like to grow cosmos for the bees and humming birds, that is easy to grow in this area, and zinnias are also easy here, and cheerful.

    Reply
    • I’ve called the sunflowers my field of gold. It’s hardly a field but I can imagine 🙂 I sowed a whole pack of cosmos and they didn’t show. I tried a second pack and I’ve got one weak plant from the whole lot. I’ll try again next year as they do look lovely. I’ll look up zinnias too. Thanks for the ideas 🙂

      Reply
      • I love the field of gold! No one said it had to be a large field…

        I am sorry about the cosmos! I hope next year is better for them. i like zinnias for a bouquet, they are so colorful and cheerful!

        Reply
  3. My guess was completely wrong as I thought it looked like a mushroom, but great progress once again Avis. I couldn’t pick any favourite flower as I just love them all. Most of my borders are overhung with roses or Wisteria etc and we get a lot of wind so tall sun flowers are out but I will have to look out for these minature versions Avis.

    Reply
    • A mushroom haha! Yes, we’re beside the sea so it’s too breezy for the tall sunflowers here. I do love roses and I actually managed not to kill a miniature rose this year.

      Reply
  4. Hello!Sweet the kitten on the stool ! Your sunflowers are wordeful.You could try growing marigolds (tagete).There are easy to grow and last until autumn.Their color is yellow-orange.Good Summer!
    Carmela

    Reply
    • Yes, marigolds are lovely. I’ve grown them before but will definitely try them again. I like calendulas too. They’re also yellow and orange. Happy summer to you too 🙂

      Reply
  5. Aw I thought that was a cat and yay I was right, so cute! Your sunflower looks so beautiful, I’ve got a few that are surviving but no flowers yet, I think everything is a bit delayed with weather being a bit cold earlier in the month. I’ve tried my hand at nasturtiums this year in the garden. I must admit the plants don’t really look very pretty but I’ve got a few flowers coming out and they are gorgeous even though the leaves look a but yellow! Jenny x

    Reply
  6. Love your garden shed. I figured out it was a cat, but he is super cute with the backstitching done.
    Love your sunflower, beautiful already. Going to be even better once it gets fully open. Thanks for sharing it with us 😀

    Reply
  7. I had it pegged for a cat. Backstitching certainly is the ticket for this project. I am just amazed at every reveal of the depth of detail in this project. It’s gorgeous! Love sunflowers and I am wondering why I have never grown any. Such a gorgeous variety 🙂 Sharon

    Reply
    • Thank you. I don’t know how the designer packs so much into these Cut Thru charts but I love them all. Maybe you could grow sunflowers next year. I started mine in paper cups and planted out when they were too tough for pests to nibble. It worked 🙂

      Reply
  8. Christina

     /  June 30, 2019

    I guessed a kitty before scrolling down! So cute 🙂 Progress well made Avis!
    The sunflower is beautiful! I can imagine a group of them together, wow!

    Reply
  9. I might have guessed a cat if I hadn’t scrolled down so quickly. 😉
    One of my favorite flowers are peonies. They could stand to be staked but hardly ever are. Once the bloom season is over it doesn’t matter anymore in their case. 🙂

    Reply
  10. I guessed cat, love the expression on his face! Your sunflower is gorgeous, you can’t help but smile when you see them 🙂

    Reply
  11. claire93

     /  June 30, 2019

    I must have cats on the brain because I immediately recognised that splodge for what is was ^^

    Reply
  12. Sure enough it is a cat! Do post a photo with all your sunflowers blooming, what a great sight that will be! As for flowers…I planted zinnias and they died, the morning glories didn’t but no flowers yet. I planted some marigolds too, and they are still tiny, but ai’m hoping that come August and September they will be in their prime. Our sunflowers are now pushing about 5 feet, so they still have a ways to go, though I can see the buds on a couple. 😄 They are so cheerful!

    Reply
  13. I couldn´t guess, but I´m glad there´s a cat in the shed 🙂 Love the sunflower!

    Reply
  14. Yes, doesn’t the back stitching bring that little kitty to life!
    Lovely garden talk which I love. I had sunflowers every year back at the farm and my largest got to 10 inches across. They are such a happy flower. Poppies are a good perennial and pretty hardy. But it’s fun just to be trying to grow things.

    Reply
    • I’m really enjoying the garden this year. I haven’t really had time before and just kept it tidy but it’s been a lot of hard work and fun so far this year.

      Reply
  15. You have made great progress, and I didn’t see the cat sitting before you showed us the outlining. What a difference it makes! I love your sunflowers too.

    Reply
  16. Love the moggie — but then again, I always do! And your sunflower is beautiful, would love to see a photo of your field of gold! I have some yellow flowers of my own in the garden, but dandelions aren’t nearly as welcome as sunflowers!

    Reply
    • I’m not a cat lover myself but I can see why other people do. My field of gold has 14 sunflowers open so far. Can’t really cal that a field but it’s “my field” 🙂

      Reply
  17. I guessed it was a cat. But you probably knew that LOL
    Your sunflower is lovely. I saw fields of them in France many years ago and they looked quite spectacular. Apart from my veggies, I’m only growing ornamental grasses, but I’ve got a lovely range of colours, shapes and heights so they’re really pretty. And the cats love them to hide in 🙂

    Reply
    • Yes. I knew you’d guess it was a cat. I’ve also seen real fields full of sunflowers. They’re amazing! I actually dug out all of my inherited ornamental grasses as I hated them with a passion. I’d left them for many years but never liked them. I was like a woman possessed once I’d made my mind up they had to go. They heard some choice words while I was digging I can tell you LOL. That’s how I’ve ended up doing so much more gardening this year because they left huge holes. You never know, I might end up swapping back to grasses in the future as they were so much easier to manage.

      Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Join 487 other subscribers
  • My Tutorials

  • Visit my quilting blog

    Oh Sew Tempting blog
  • My version of the Loyal Union Sampler in progress.

  • Recent Posts

  • Crafty Eye Candy

  • Previous posts

  • My community

  • Copyright 2011 – 2019

    The content of this blog including all text, photos, tutorials etc. belong to me. Thank you for respecting my copyright and always linking back to the original source.

  • Meta