Back to crochet…

Good morning everyone,

We have wonderful blue skies and bright sunshine here today. However, yesterday was dull, wet and windy and not the kind of day to spend outdoors. In fact, it was so dark in the house, I needed something to brighten my spirits. You may remember, way back in January, that I started to use up all of the scraps I had left over from this Double Vision blanket.

CIMG3795

The original design is by Woolly Thoughts and  you can find the free pattern on Ravelry here, though I didn’t stick to it rigidly.

Anyway, there was a lot of lovely scraps left from this project and, you know me, I don’t like having scraps cluttering up my drawers. I much prefer to use them up before buying more crafting supplies. The As-We-Go Stripey Blanket from Not Your Average Crochet caught my eye. It’s the perfect scrappy project.

This is where I got up to in January…..

CIMG3824

…..and here it is now.

IMG_20150502_192522

Hopefully, that brightened your day 😉

How big is it, I hear you ask. So far, it’s a huge shawl size. I’ve completed about 50 of the 131 rows on the pattern. If my scraps run out, I’ll stop. If they don’t, I can feel a jazzy border coming on (as if it needs one LOL). To give you a better idea of the size, here it is in all of it’s dazzling brightness, much better than giving the measurements 🙂

IMG_20150504_080159

I’m so pleased I’ve picked this one up to finish. It was all spurred on by a moment of retail therapy (madness) last week. I love looking at yarn and I’ve been missing my knitting. A friend recently told me that she is knitting loads of 6 inch squares with a group of other ladies. They will all be joined together to make a huge scarf which will be wrapped around a local hall as part of a fundraising event. It made me want  to knit so I’ve bought 14 balls of this wool from Deramores in the watercolours shade and it’s on its way to me now. At the moment, I have a plan of what I want to make with it but I’ll keep it close to my chest as the plan could well change by the time I get around to it. The crochet blanket has to be finished before I start any other woolly project. Now, there’s an incentive to finish if ever there was one 🙂

I hope you all have a wonderful day today. It’s a Bank Holiday Monday here so I can play all day if I want to!

Avis x

Previous Post
Leave a comment

24 Comments

  1. Oh, I love this blankie! I have a real weakness for soft, cuddly, fluffy things, which makes living in the tropics a bit trying, but I can just imagine how nice it would feel to be wrapped up in all that gorgeous cosy colour!

    Reply
  2. Avis, such colour – a great idea using all the different stitches to make such a cute and practical snuggly rug

    Reply
  3. Your lovely woolworks have brightened my day too 🙂

    Reply
  4. witchylin

     /  May 4, 2015

    I love your crochet jazzy blanket. It is so cheerful when the weather is chilly and you want to snuggle up in something bright. I do like your latest yarn purchase. By the way Mum in law & I have knitted 35 feet of scarf for the hall and think that is enough for our contribution. LOL.

    Reply
  5. claire93

     /  May 4, 2015

    that is going to be a bobbie dazzler ^^

    Reply
  6. Stunning and a lovely use of scraps !

    Reply
    • Thank you. This pattern was done as a CAL originally and there are loads of Google images with so many colour combinations. They are all gorgeous 🙂

      Reply
  7. Love it!! I put my version of that away as I realised I’ll have a problem with the border… My stitch counting was neglected in the early rows and it’s very wonky. I got frustrated trying to work out how I was going to resolve it and haven’t done any more rows for weeks now. I do love it though, and seeing your beauty has encouraged me to keep going. I’ll suss out the edging at the end!

    Reply
    • It is tricky to keep the edges straight. I’m managing so far and I think mine will be getting a border to keep it tidy. if my edge was wonky it wouldn’t bother me too much because I have no intention of blocking it. I just want to weave the last ends in and snuggle up. It’ll be well used in our house. Anyway, if you’d like to pick up your blanket and take part in the group SAL (scroll down a couple of posts), you’d be very welcome. We don’t have anyone doing crochet stitches yet. The rues are simple, just post an update of your progress (however small) on any project every third Sunday and link to the other people in the group.That way, you’ll get your blanket out of the drawer and finished 🙂 Email me if you want to join us. You can see what the others are up to if you read this blog a couple of posts ago. Now, there’s a challenge 🙂

      Reply
  8. That is absolutely stonking 🙂

    Reply
  9. fawn

     /  May 5, 2015

    That is amazing!!!!

    Reply
  10. wow, you’ve done so much more on this blanket! ;0) I love it, such a great blanket, I have it pinned as I’d like to make one with my massive, overflowing stash of oddments

    Reply
    • I love the pattern. I’m always amazed by the generosity of other crafters who share their patterns for free. I reckon it won’t be too long before this one is finished because it is great fun to do. Also, my parcel of new wool is on its way 😉

      Reply
  11. Your afghan is looking fabulous. Some day I will get to creating this. Not sure if my crochet skills are up to that level, but love all the fun stitches.

    Reply
    • The photos on the pattern really help. I also looked up a couple of abbreviations on Youtube as the American version of HDC and DC are used and I needed to refresh on how to do them. I’m not that experienced at crochet. I just give it a go and if it doesn’t look right I change the stitches to something I can do 🙂

      Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Join 487 other subscribers
  • My Tutorials

  • Visit my quilting blog

    Oh Sew Tempting blog
  • My version of the Loyal Union Sampler in progress.

  • Recent Posts

  • Crafty Eye Candy

  • Previous posts

  • My community

  • Copyright 2011 – 2019

    The content of this blog including all text, photos, tutorials etc. belong to me. Thank you for respecting my copyright and always linking back to the original source.

  • Meta