Cirque des Triangles – Stage 3

Hello everyone,

The last three weeks have flown by and Spring is finally here! I do like it when the clocks move forward an hour to give us lighter evenings.

Anyway, it’s time to share my progress on the SAL project again. This design is by Ink Circles and it’s called Cirque des Triangles. Here’s where I was up to last time. All of the top except the centre triangle was completed.

Stage 2Here’s where I’m up to now.

Stage 3If I didn’t have other things to do this project would have been well on the way to completion by now. It’s so enjoyable not having to change thread colours.

Please take a look at how everyone else is progressing with their projects. We’ve got two new members this time. Mary Margaret gets up to all sorts of lovely cooking, gardening and crafting. Timothy has chosen to stitch a huge cross stitch project for the SAL but he also enjoys several other crafts.  Just click on the names below and you’ll hop over to all the member’s blogs. We live all over the world so you may need to allow for time differences but we post local time, every third Sunday.

Claire, Gun, Carole, LucyAnn, Kate, Jess, Sue, Constanze, Debbierose, Christina, Susan, Kathy, Margaret, Cindy, Helen, Steph, Linda, Catherine, Wendy, Mary Margaret, Timothy

Our next updates will be posted on the  23rd April 2017. See you then!

About the SAL

This SAL (Stitch Along) is slightly different to other SALs in that we don’t all stitch the same design at the same rate. We choose ONE unfinished project, or ONE new one, and show progress of its completion over a series of three weekly updates. There are no deadlines and no set amount to stitch. The result is that the space in our drawers full of WIPs (works in progress) is gradually being freed up to store lots of new crafty goodness. It’s surprising how much motivation I’ve gained from being in this SAL. If you’d like to finish a project you’ve left unfinished for a while, or start a new one with us, you can join us by leaving a request in the comments below or sending me an email. The address is on the right of this page. I’ll send you a few simple rules to agree.

Leave a comment

48 Comments

  1. This looks wonderful! I’m loving all the work with variegated thread, it looks stunning. Its even inspired me to go lust after some in my local shop. I wanted to buy it all!

    Reply
  2. I love this design, it’s great seeing you and Claire stitching the same as they look so different. One of these designs is going to have to go on my to-do list!

    Reply
  3. This looks incredible, rather complicated but stunning.

    Reply
  4. When your variegated thread is that beautiful you don’t need colour changes, do you? The clocks changed Down Under today as well, and it came as a big surprise to us – we’ve been without TV news for so many days that it passed us by.

    Reply
    • I bet you haven’t missed the TV. I didn’t realise you changed your clocks as well. There’s always a debate here about whether we should continue with “daylight saving” every time we change.

      Reply
  5. Variegated ocean colour thread is stunning

    Reply
  6. claire93

     /  April 2, 2017

    aren’t we doing well ?

    Reply
  7. This is a beautiful piece, definitely brings the seaside to mind!

    Reply
  8. Just beautiful! I would love a project with just one color. How many bundles of floss would you need for a project that size?

    Reply
  9. Ahhh…..so beautiful!

    Reply
  10. Very pretty

    Reply
  11. Such pretty colors.

    Reply
  12. Christina

     /  April 2, 2017

    It’s interesting to see the difference the background fabric creates. The white background gives me the illusion of more space between your triangles and Claire’s green background makes the design seem closer together. Maybe that’s just my eyes 🙂 Both are turning out beautiful!

    Reply
  13. This is looking fantastic! I love that the variegated thread gives such wonderful contrast with very little input from the stitcher. I don’t this I use them enough!

    Reply
  14. Beautiful! I love the way yours and Claire’s look so different just by using different threads and fabric.

    Reply
  15. this is gorgeous!!! I’ve use variegated threads in machine embroidery but never in my cross stitch. looks like i have something new to try out. 🙂

    Reply
    • I hope you do have a go. However, be warned. They are addictive. This is the third one of this series that I’ve stitched and I’ve enjoyed them all. Take a look at Cirque des Cercles and Cirque des Coeurs in the links at the right of this page if you want to see them.

      Reply
  16. Love your Ink Circles project!! The colors are just gorgeous. Great job! I would like to do an Ink Circles some day. I rather do like stitching without much changing of threads.

    Reply
  17. You are flying through this design! It looks great, i love the colour

    Reply
  18. Looking great. I really like the thread you choose

    Reply
  19. Love the thread!!!! It is looking do good so far

    Reply
  20. It’s simply beautiful! You have a great talent. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

