New England House – Winter etc.

Hello everyone,

Just a quickie to show you what I’ve been up to over the last few weeks. It’s the fourth New England House by Bothy Threads. Their kits are a dream to stitch. I found working with the three different shades of white quite challenging but it was worth it.

First page done…1Second page…2Third…3Fourth…4… and finally, the backstitching and beads.5

I’m really pleased with how Winter has turned out. The photos don’t do it justice because the snow has a bit of icy sparkle and there’s beads in the door wreath and on the garlands.

I’ve really enjoyed stitching this set. Here are the others in case you missed them earlier.

This one is SpringSpringHe comes SummerSummer 5This is FallFall

They are all being gifted to my sister. She loved the first one so much that I simply had to complete the set. I was supposed to be stitching them, one for each year but I couldn’t help myself.

What next I wonder? Will I return to the ABC Bears or something completely different? Maybe I should get on with the SAL project first or something new from the stash. I love to start new projects. So much choice!

Leave a comment

40 Comments

  1. witchylin

     /  March 17, 2017

    Avis the Winter one is so lovely. I love the snow on the roof and it is so clear when back stitched. Your sister will be thrilled..

    Reply
  2. Oh, how beautiful!!! I think they are all gorgeous! I have to say the little rooster in front of the ‘Fall’ house is just too cute! My 6 yr. old grandson has chickens & is so proud of them so lately I notice chickens & roosters. LOL! Seriously, your sister is going to be one lucky lady! I think you need to make a set for yourself too! 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks. I have a friend who has chickens and since she got them I keep noticing them everywhere now. If I didn’t have lots of other things I want to stitch I’d definitely be making some of these for me 🙂

      Reply
  3. lovely!!! I can see why you couldn’t stop at one. 🙂

    Reply
  4. A great series and a lucky sister. 🙂

    Reply
  5. claire93

     /  March 17, 2017

    oh well done Avis! Gosh the Winter house must have been quite difficult to stitch with all those light colours on white, but the result is spectacular. I love the détails with the snowman and all the embellishments.
    Have to say, I think my favourite house is Summer because of the chooks lol.

    Reply
  6. Just beautiful! I love how the light has caught the star in the Winter upstairs window… what a fantastic present for a very lucky sister 🙂

    Reply
  7. These are so beautiful, and you really had to persevere on Winter, but it is really spectacular with the beads and back stitching…WOW!

    Reply
  8. Just gorgeous! Your perservance and efforts really show up, particularly in Winter.

    Reply
  9. Wood So Wild

     /  March 18, 2017

    Adorable. Your sister is a lucky lady!

    Reply
  10. So pretty! I love the summer one! 😊

    Reply
  11. Denby

     /  March 18, 2017

    I love all of them for different reasons but I think if I had to pick a favourite it would be the winter one. Fantastic work Avis everything that you do is very neat and precise. I am very lucky to be receiving these and I am planning to show them all together in my new house. Thank you very much.

    Reply
  12. You have a very lucky sister! They are such a beautiful set and will look lovely together. I bet the sparkle in the snow really adds the wow factor to winter!

    Reply
  13. Allison St Clair

     /  March 18, 2017

    My favourite one by far. I adore the bird boxes in the trees and the snow effect from the white thread, so beautifully done x

    Reply
  14. So pretty

    Reply
  15. Beautiful work Avis , I would be cross eyed trying work with the light colours. You stitch up wonderful cross stitch projects :).

    Reply
  16. All of the seasons are lovely. And you stitched them up pretty quick! Great job! I’m sure your sister will enjoy them for years to come.

    Reply
  17. What a beautiful set. I think I like Winter best, but they’re all lovely 🙂

    Reply
  18. I like all for of them! There´s something special about houses embroideries, I think. You can fantasies of the people that lives there and what they are doing and so on 🙂

    Reply
    • That’s very true. Now that you’ve said that I think this series might have been even better if it showed the same house in different seasons. However, I suppose they might have been boring to stitch.

      Reply
  19. Love, Love, Love these New England houses! And once again it’s amazing what the back stitching does to a piece to finish it off.

    Reply
  20. they are beautiful! I think Winter is my favourite. I think you should show us your stash and let us decide what you should work on!

    Reply
    • Thank you. Actually, I’d be embarrassed to show you my stash. There must be at least a dozen kits waiting to be started! I’ve gone back to ABC Bears and won’t start anything else until it’s finished.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

