Next To Go Stage 10

Good morning,

Here is a progress report on my SAL project. This is how far I’d got in the last update.

Stage 9

Here’s where I’m up to now.

Stage 10

Can you find the bit I’ve done this time? No? well, it’s all along the very bottom of the picture. Lots of lovely thread changes. There was actually quite a bit of work in this part and all of the foreground is finished now. I’m going to stitch the rest of the dog for next time.

The kit is from the James Herriott Collection.

Helen is our new SAL member this time. I can’t wait to see what she’s been up to.

Please take a look to see how everyone else’s projects are progressing. Just click on the names below and you’ll hop over to their blogs. We live all over the world so you may need to allow for time differences but we post local time, every third Sunday.

Claire, Gun, Carole, LucyAnn, Kate, Jess, Sue, Constanze, Debbierose,Christina,Susan, Kathy, Margaret, Cindy, Helen

Our next update will be posted on the 18th December 2016. One week before Santa’s visit!

About the SAL

This SAL (Stitch Along) is slightly different to other SALs in that we don’t all stitch the same design at the same rate. We choose an unfinished project, or maybe a new one, and show progress of its completion over a series of three weekly updates. There are no deadlines and no set amount to stitch. The result is that the space in our drawers full of WIPs (works in progress) is gradually being freed up to store lots of new crafty goodness. It’s surprising how much motivation I’ve gained from being in this SAL. If you’d like to finish a project you’ve left unfinished for a while you can join us by leaving a request in the comments below or sending me an email. The address is on the right of this page. I’ll send you a few simple rules to agree.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

42 Comments

  1. Funny how the eye is automatically drawn to the empty square, rather than noticing all the work at the bottom, looking good 🙂

    Reply
  2. I must admit I too was looking in the wrong place lol. I know what you mean about all the thread changes but I always tell myself (and I’m sure its true) that they will make such a difference to the finished picture.
    Thank you for all your help with my first post Avis, it is much appreciated.
    Helen

    Reply
    • You did it 🙂 Welcome aboard Helen. The thread changes definitely make a difference but when they are all green or all brown I just put my head down and go for the finish line.

      Reply
  3. The foreground really makes the picture pop. Excellent

    Reply
  4. claire93

     /  November 27, 2016

    it’s like playing”spot the difference” ^^ I couldn’t see your progress at first, until you pointed us in the right direction.

    Reply
  5. witchylin

     /  November 27, 2016

    Just like Claire93 I missed the bottom of the picture. What a difference it makes. Had a proper look and can see all the work you have put into it.

    Reply
  6. I´m sort of glad you are not the stitching machine I thought you were 🙂 🙂 The idea that we can stitch how much we want is so excellent!!!! Thank you for that 🙂

    Reply
  7. It’s a very detailed pretty design

    Reply
  8. Avis I was looking up instead of down, so missed the fine details too! That foreground is no for the faint hearted! It looks great!

    Reply
  9. I didn’t notice the bottom at first either. You have stitched quite a bit and the piece is looking fabulous!

    Reply
  10. I also missed the bottom. You have made good progress. Can’t wait to see the rest of the dog.

    Reply
  11. The minute I saw the headless dog, I knew all the work had happened at the bottom! What a lot of fiddly little bits of different colour. You have such patience! It’s looking great, and I’m looking forward to the finish 🙂

    Reply
    • The way it’s going I should be able to finish by the end of January. The rest of the dog will be done for the next update then I’ll be going behind the wall in the bushes LOL.

      Reply
  12. Christina

     /  November 27, 2016

    Haha, I was looking at both pictures back and forth. “Is this a trick question?” I see now your progress 😁 I also like how the edges have a jig saw effect, not straight. Is this how it finishes? Like a painting.

    Reply
    • The edges will stay like this. It’s how they appear on the design and I quite like them, even though it’s an unusual finish. I hadn’t thought of the painting effect before. Yes, they are like brush strokes, now you mention it 🙂

      Reply
  13. This is looking beautiful Avis 🙂

    Reply
  14. Hello Avis. I’ve just come across this SAL and would love to get involved. Can you tell me how I would go about it? Thank you!

    Steph

    Reply
  15. dezertsuz

     /  November 30, 2016

    Actually, yes I could find your new work! That’s an amazing bit of stitchery. Very English country looking to me. =)

    Reply
  16. As a child I used to love ‘Spot the Difference’ – but I kept on looking at the dogs instead of the bottom 🙂

    Reply
  17. I have two border collies so I can’t wait to see how yours come out! The ones in the picture look more obedient than mine though. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

