Next To Go Stage 8

Hello again,

Another three weeks have disappeared and it’s time to show a progress update on my stitch along project. This kit is from the James Herriott Collection and it was given to me by my lovely friend Lin. She was having a clear out and I was a very lucky girl! Anyway, this is where I was up to last time.

Stage 7This is how far I’ve got this time. It won’t get any wider than this.Stage 8Next time I hope to have the other dog more or less finished. You can see that I’ve already got the legs done. As is usual for me, I’ve changed the pattern! I won’t tell you what I’ve done just yet, in case I want to pull it out, but I’ve made an executive decision and I hope it’ll work.

This SAL (Stitch Along) is slightly different to other SALs in that we don’t all stitch the same design at the same rate. We choose an unfinished project, or maybe a new one, and show progress of its completion over a series of three weekly updates. There are no deadlines and no set amount to stitch. The result is that the space in our drawers full of WIPs (works in progress) is gradually being freed up to store lots of new crafty goodness. It’s surprising how much motivation I’ve gained from being in this SAL. If you’d like to finish a project you’ve left unfinished for a while you can join us by leaving a request in the comments below or sending me an email. The address is on the right of this page. I’ll send you a few simple rules to agree.

Margaret is our new SAL member this time. Her blog is full of gorgeous hand made items. She’s mastered a whole host of crafts so I’m looking forward to seeing what she’s chosen to make or finish first. Don’t forget to take a look to see how everyone else’s projects are progressing. Just click on the names below and you’ll hop over to their blogs. We live all over the world so you may need to allow for time differences but we post local time, every third Sunday.

Claire, Gun, Carole, Wendy, LucyAnn, Kate, Jess, Sue, Constanze, Debbierose,Christina, Susan, Kathy, Margaret

See you on the 6th November 2016 🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

36 Comments

  1. Avis, looking fantastic, so life like

    Reply
  2. This is growing brilliantly. I really like this project.

    Reply
  3. That new bit of grass really brightens the piece up, and those white paws are intriguing!

    Reply
  4. witchylin

     /  October 16, 2016

    You are really getting on with this SAL

    Reply
  5. Charming! 😉

    Reply
  6. Coming along nicely

    Reply
  7. claire93

     /  October 16, 2016

    this design is looking better with each update!

    Reply
  8. Avis, I totally agree! This SAL has kept me working on stuff, not just my cross stitch! I’ll look forward to seeing more of the new pup next time. 🙂

    Reply
  9. You’ve made a lot of progress in three weeks, looking good!

    Reply
  10. Christina

     /  October 16, 2016

    Agreed, the SAL definitely ensures I work on one of my projects! A little here and there goes a long way. Your project is looking great, like a painting 🙂

    Reply
  11. magpiesue

     /  October 16, 2016

    I believe an executive decision is going to be in order soon on my new little coin/card case. I’m afraid I may have left Margaret out of the list of participants this time around. There are getting to be so many of us!

    Reply
    • Nothing wrong with executive decisions😉 I just copy and paste the list from the previous post each. It saves so much time (though I realise Margaret is an extra one to add this time).

      Reply
  12. Nice bit of progress there. I’m looking forward to seeing those legs get a body and head next time 🙂

    Reply
  13. Wow you have added a lot of stitches there!

    Reply
  14. I´m so glad I joined this SAL and it is all thanks to you!!!!!! Your embroidery is looking great 🙂

    Reply
  15. It’s looking beautiful. I’m stuck with a cross stitch picture I began in the summer but it’s ‘resting’ right now. I’d love to join in with your SAL please.

    Reply
  16. Wow! Great progress since I have been missing. It’s looking great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

