Next To Go Stage 1

Good morning everyone,

I’ve started my new SAL project and this time I’m stitching a design called Next To Go from the James Herriot Collection.

Kit As you can see, the picture is of a sheepdog handler and his two border collies who are waiting to take part in a sheepdog trial. They are “Next To Go”.

I’ve started in the centre on the trousers and it’s going very well so far.

Stage 1 This kit was given to me by my friend Lin who doesn’t think she will do any more cross stitch. You may recall that she also gave me her stash of cross stitch threads a while ago. I couldn’t wait to start this design because it’s a complete contrast to my last cross stitch project. The photo doesn’t do justice to the richness of the thread colours.

Do pop over to see what everyone else is up to today. You may need to allow for time differences as we live all over the world. Can you believe that Claire is doing a different project to me this time?

Claire, Gun, Carole, Wendy, LucyAnn, Kate, Jess, Sue, Constanze

Our next update will be on 12th June. See you then!

Leave a comment

27 Comments

  1. I love this one, and you’ve made such progress already. The collies are gorgeous.

    Reply
  2. Lovely, we had border collies at one time. I love to see them working or going by on the tractor/ back of a van.

    Reply
  3. What a super project and you have got off to a flying start. Love this. So sorry that I had to withdraw this time but I hadn’t managed a single stitch on my flower fairy. Everyone is so amazing and supportive that I will be back. Good luck.

    Reply
  4. Oh Avis I already love it!!! I love the books and the TV series (we have all DVDs). 🙂

    Reply
  5. claire93

     /  May 22, 2016

    that’s an excellent start Avis!
    I love James Herriot although I don’t think I’d have the energy to own a Border Collie ^^

    Reply
  6. witchylin

     /  May 22, 2016

    Being the owner of Border Collies until last September I can tell you they do need L-O-N-G walks and lots of stimulation. At my great age now I don’t feel I could offer another BC all it would need for a good life. I will just look at pictures and this fantastic cross stitch. Avis is certainly making good progress. Will love to see it grow over the length of the SAL, Claire certainly is doing a totally different cross stitch this time.

    Reply
    • It’s growing well. My next stage is the collie sitting by the handler. Collies are so clever and I imagine they will quickly become bored without some work to do. I doubt the sheep farmers could do their job without them these days.

      Reply
  7. What a beautiful piece this is – and will be!

    Reply
  8. Lovely cross stitch. Lush rich browns

    Reply
  9. You’ve made a really good start, there are a lot of stitches there!

    Reply
  10. Wow, you and Claire are not doing the same!!!!! 🙂 This embroidery is really giving you something to work on, hasn´t it? But it is a lovely embroidery and I´m sure you´re gonna fix it 🙂

    Reply
    • Correct. Would you ever have thought that would happen? I didn’t. We do have plans to return to the same project when Claire has finished the unicorn.

      Reply
  11. It’s so weird seeing you and Claire doing different projects, although both are lovely. I used to watch the James Herriot program and have read all the books too. Loved them 🙂

    Reply
  12. wow a lot of work !! I remember the TV series too. It was on in the afternoon through the week. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

