Kokeshi Friends Stage 7

Hi everyone,

Welcome to Little Miss Lilac on the Left. She is the penultimate doll in this design called Kokeshi Friends by Joan Elliott. Miss Lilac stitched up really quickly as she is quite petite compared to some of the other dolls. I would have had her finished a lot quicker if I hadn’t attached the wrong shade of pale peach floss to the thread holder. There I was merrily stitching away, radio on, sitting by the radiator. You can imagine the cosy scene. Then I realised Miss Lilac was rather tanned compared to the others! So much for focussing better this time. The right hand side of the project has now rolled around the frame so you’ll have to be patient and wait to see the full design when it is finished.Stage 7There’s only one doll left to stitch plus a few details, so the finish line is in sight. You will notice I’ve been very good by continuing to finish the backstitch as far as possible. I’ll consult with my cross-stitching guru Claire about the number of stages we have left. I suspect there’ll only be two (or will we make a run for the finish line, I wonder). Claire is sewing the same design as me and the other ladies in the SAL are all doing different projects.

Please click on the links below to visit everyone else’s blogs and see what they are all up to. Regular readers will notice a new stitcher in the group. Sue, who writes at From The Magpie’s Nest is joining the fun 🙂 Welcome aboard Sue! I’m really looking forward to seeing what you have chosen to stitch.

Claire, Gun, Carole, Jule, Wendy, LucyAnn, Kate, Cathy, JessSue

If you are sitting reading this and thinking that you’d like to finish some of your ancient, or even recent, works in progress, why not join us? You can do so by sending me an email. The address is at the right hand side of this page.

Our next update will be on 10th April. See you then!

Leave a comment

32 Comments

  1. Looks fantastic, love the colours

    Reply
  2. claire93

     /  March 20, 2016

    guru thinks 2 stages left sounds more reasonable ^^

    Reply
  3. That’s so cute Avis!

    Reply
  4. This is going to be a very lovely picture!

    I’m on a major cleaning and sorting spree at the moment and found some half-done embroidery projects in need of some progress … can I join you ladies next time? I think having to show something might just be the motivation I need!

    Reply
    • Yes, it’s amazing how many projects we’ve all completed since we started our updates. It’s very motivating. I’ll be in touch with the very few rules via email 🙂 Keep a look out in your spam box in case I end up in there.

      Reply
  5. witchylin

     /  March 20, 2016

    I have a couple of cross stitch projects in the UFO box but I need new glasses if I am going to ever complete them. I do like cross stitch, looking not doing, so they may never be done. This is going along really well Avis.

    Reply
    • Two more stages and I’ll be having another Happy Dance 🙂 Cross stitch UFO’s! How could you? LOL I already know which project I’m doing next and it won’t be the same as Claire’s this time.

      Reply
  6. Sandie Keeble

     /  March 20, 2016

    This looks like a fun stitch, and I wholeheartedly agree with backstitching as you go. I have this pattern pulled but not yet kitted, in an effort to make it for my 5 year old granddaughter before she gets too old for it! Mind you, are you ever too old for Kokeshi dolls?

    Reply
    • I don’t think you’re ever too old for Kokeshi dolls 😉 I didn’t stick to the exact colours on the chart as my friend gave me her thread stash and I decided to use some of it up instead of buying more. It’s been a very cheap project for me. How about joining the group? One doll every three weeks isn’t too much stitching. Let me know if you want to join in 🙂

      Reply
  7. She is so cute. Looking forward to the next update.

    Reply
  8. What a sweet design! I just love seeing your progress on this. Those dolls are so cute and the colors are gorgeous. Can’t wait to see the finish. Great job!

    Reply
  9. Aargh! I can only imagine your frustration at having to unpick all those weeny stitches. Still, she seems none the worse for her fake tan! Do you have the next thing planned after your run for the finish line, or is that still under discussion?

    Reply
  10. Love your lilac lady. She’s very pretty 🙂

    I’m thinking I may be able to finish my current SAL in two more stages so we may be starting new ones at the same time. I do love a new start 🙂

    Reply
  11. Cute little girls 🙂

    Reply
  12. Very cute

    Reply

Leave a Reply

