Framed at last!

Hi everyone,

At last I’ve put these cross stitch projects into the frames. I’m always happy to frame my own pieces and usually buy custom sized frames but this time the quote came in way over my budget. I decided on some cheap and cheerful frames, not a perfect fit, but they’ll get my needlework out of the drawer and onto the walls in time for Santa’s visit.

If you read this blog regularly, you’ll recognise all the projects. First up is the most recently finished one, Quilt V by Whispered by the Wind, though you will remember that I changed the blocks so much that it barely resembles the original. I chose a white frame and border, and because it’s an off-the-peg size, it isn’t perfect but it’ll do until I save up.

This is the finished piece.

IMG_20150806_141503983_HDR

Here it is in the frame. Claire and I both stitched this one as part of a SAL group.
IMG_20151220_120756662

The next one is Cirque des Coeurs by Ink Circles. I think I only wrote one post about this one. It was completed while I was away on holiday in 2014. You can see lots of close up detail and watch it grow here. Claire gave me the idea for the thread choice and I love it! CIMG3397

I decided on a crisp white border and frame again. This time, it’s a perfect fit.

IMG_20151220_120416630

Finally, another Ink Circles one. It’s called Cirque des Cercles. I made it in the suggested thread on black evenweave.

Stage 12

I had originally chosen a black frame and border for this one but they sent me a white border by mistake. I was in two minds about sending it back but I think they must have known what I had in mind to frame. All black would have been too much I think. I’m very happy with the white and I’m pleased I thought about it and tried the piece in the frame before asking for a colour swap. I stitched this one as part of the SAL with Claire as well.

IMG_20151219_144404856I hope you get plenty of time to craft over the Christmas period whether you celebrate or not. I’ll be back next Sunday with an update on Kokeshi Friends 🙂

Avis x

Leave a comment

27 Comments

  1. They all look lovely in their frames. It’s so tempting sometimes to carry on with the next project and pop the finished one away until you get around to framing it, so well done on getting three done. I must take a leaf out of your book and get some of mine finished in some way 🙂

    Reply
  2. Such gorgeous finishes! I love Cirque des Cercles too and have been going back and forth about getting it. This just makes me want to take the plunge 🙂

    Reply
    • Oh you must buy it! The chart is lovely and clear and sewing with just one variegated thread means no thread changes. It’s probably my most favourite of all the projects I’ve done, closely followed by Cirque des Coeurs. I would sew it on aida next time as I find it so much easier than evenweave.

      Reply
      • Did you find the color monotonous after a while? I have one other project that is a single color and I’ll admit sometimes I itch to pick up another color of floss 🙂 I suppose though since this is variegated it won’t be that much of a problem 🙂

        Reply
        • No, not at all. Quite the opposite in fact. I really enjoyed watching the colours constantly changing without the effort of swapping threads. I’ve given a link to the original post above. It has close up photos so you can see what the colours are really like. The 4th and 6th photos are best I think. I used Threadworx floss and the colour changes are just the right length for this design in my opinion.

          Reply
  3. They all look stunning!

    Reply
  4. Avis all three are just wonderful! My favourite is Cirque des Coeurs.

    Reply
  5. claire93

     /  December 20, 2015

    I still think Cirque des Cercles is the most stunning piece ^^

    Reply
  6. It’s so much more satisfying to see a beautiful piece of work framed, isn’t it? It looks much more finished. And those lovely pieces are definitely worth hanging on the wall.

    Reply
    • I quite like putting them away out of sight for a while and looking at them with fresh eyes. The pain from all the fractional stitches on the quilt one is forgotten now 🙂

      Reply
  7. So beautiful – they all look stunning in their respective frames. I particularly love the cirque de circles one and would love to have a go at this one in due course! Got to get my Angel finished first though lol. Well done on getting them all framed. Sending Christmas wishes.
    Alison x

    Reply
  8. Fantastic work – and so much better to be framed than in the drawer!

    Reply
  9. Perfect choices Avis..they all look fantastic..!
    Izz

    Reply
  10. Great job on all! The piece with the White mat looks great. The black would have been too much. Congrats on all the finishes.

    Reply
  11. They are all beautiful embroideries, but I like The Ink Circle best!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

