Kokeshi Friends Stage 1

Good morning everyone,

I’m really pleased to announce the start of a new cross stitch project for the SAL. It’s Kokeshi Friends designed by Joan Elliott. The chart was originally published in issue 200 of The World of Cross Stitching magazine as Kokeshi Dolls and it’s now available under the name of Kokeshi Friends from various outlets including 123 Stitch and Casa Cenina.

kokeshi-friends-joan-elliottAs usual, me and Claire will be stitching the same design. We’ve started with the centre doll, Miss Pink. Here’s my progress so far.

Stage 1I’m stitching on white 28 count evenweave over two threads. There are a few fractional stitches so the evenweave helps with those. The wrapover edge of the kimono should be stitched with metallic thread. I tried and failed and ended up unpicking it and stitching with plain colour regular floss instead. The metallic thread was all too lumpy bumpy for my liking. My friend Lin will be very pleased to read that I’ll be using all but two of the required colours from a box of threads that she gave me a few weeks ago. I couldn’t believe how many of the recommended shades I didn’t have in my own stash. However, when I looked in Lin’s box, there they were. Thank you again Lin 🙂 I told you they wouldn’t go to waste in my hands 🙂 To buy this lot would have cost me a small fortune!

The rest of this group is also posting updates on their lovely projects some time today. Please allow for time differences as we live all over the world. Just click on the names to visit their amazing blogs and see what they’ve been up to.

Claire, Gun, Carole, Jule, Wendy, LucyAnn, Kate, Cathy, Jess, Jacqui.

Our next update will be on 6th December. See you then!

Avis x

Leave a comment

29 Comments

  1. What a pretty project. Good luck

    Reply
  2. Pretty project and a super start.

    Reply
  3. witchylin

     /  November 15, 2015

    I do like this design. It is bright and cheerful. I know what you mean bout metallic threads I don’t get on with them either. ;-( I will be following this SAL with interest. Right now I am frantically knitting a doll for a friends 50th Birthday. it is for the man who has everything!
    Glad the box of threads came in useful.

    Reply
  4. claire93

     /  November 15, 2015

    yes, we’re off – something new at last ^^

    Reply
  5. Immensely pretty and cute. The colours are lovely and subtle – she has such delicate pink cheeks!

    Reply
  6. This looks like such a fun stitch, with all the different dolls. Love Joan Elliots designs 🙂
    Metallic threads are so hit and miss. Some are ok to stitch with and others just make an unholy mess.

    Reply
  7. taurielgreenleaf

     /  November 15, 2015

    Ohh gorgeous bright design, I love Joan Elliot pieces 🙂

    Reply
  8. You and Claire always finds the nicest embroidery! Good luck with this one 🙂

    Reply
  9. Paardje

     /  November 15, 2015

    So cute! Must be such fun to work on 🙂

    Reply
  10. Another exciting project 🙂

    Reply
  11. So cute, happy stitching

    Reply
  12. This is a great new project, looking good already. How lovely of Lin to give you the threads!

    Reply
  13. Very cute design
    Izz

    Reply
  14. Very cute! I was sorry I missed this one in the magazine. It’s nice to know it is available at 123 stitch. You are off to a great start. And is there any other way to start besides with pink? LOL

    Reply
    • I think we start most projects in the middle come to think about it. Me and Claire take it in turns to decide which bit gets stitched next. It’s all very democratic 😉

      Reply
  15. These are so cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

