A new knitting project

Hello everyone,

It’s starting to get cooler and darker here up north so it’s the perfect time to start knitting a new blanket. I love sitting under the knitting as it grows, keeping me snug on the sofa. This aran weight yarn was purchased a few months ago and I’ve at last decided what to do with it. It’s going to have a moss stitch border all the way around and the centre will be a selection of Aran patterns. I love knitting Aran patterns. Here’s where I’m up to so far.

1 I’m using a 5mm circular needle, knitting back and forth, rather than in the round. There’s no way 252 stitches would have survived on ordinary needles. I found the blue rubber stitch stoppers in my late Aunt Edith’s craft things. They were unopened and probably bought in the 1960s. They’ve already saved my stitches a few times 🙂

Must get back to knitting now,

Avis x

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Pretty colour and perfect winter project!

    Reply
  2. Pretty colour, and I’ve always loved the nubbly texture of moss stitch, but I can’t wait to see the rest of the pattern.

    Reply
  3. claire93

     /  November 7, 2015

    I love this colour – it’s really “you” ^^
    hope this grows fast so you can snuggle up while knitting.

    Reply
  4. The colour is gorgeous and the moss stitch so pretty.

    Reply
  5. witchylin

     /  November 7, 2015

    Yeah! You have started it. The colour is just perfect for you. Look forward to seeing the Aran “sampler” in the centre of the moss stitch.

    Reply
  6. Moss is my favorite stitch. I love the knitpro needles they are a delight to knit with. I also have the same blue stitch savers. They were my late Mum’s purchased in the 1980’s I was there when she bought them, I even remember the local wool shop we got them from. Thankyou Avis for all the wonderful warm memories this project has evoked. I’m smiling 😊

    Reply
    • I know how those memories work their magic 🙂 Every time I use something of Aunt Edith’s, I think of her using it long before I did. My stitch stoppers were unopened but she was knitting Aran throughout the 60s and 70s. Her main hobby was in making bridal wear, far beyond my ability. She used to sew so late into the night to meet deadlines that her husband threatened to throw the sewing machine out on many occasions 🙂

      Reply
  7. love the color – cant wait to watch the blanket grow.

    Reply
  8. Looks great! I can see that keeping you very warm and cozy while stitching. The perfect kind of project for cold, dark nights 😉 Looking forward to seeing more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

