A Cardinal for Christmas

Hello everyone,

I’ve got a finish to show you that I’ve been working on for a while.

IMG_20151019_121023508My lovely friend Claire sent me this kit all the way from France. She’s so kind 🙂 I’ve had it for a while and I just fancied making something small for a change so it was the perfect choice. It’s actually quite stitch intensive but I found it so easy to pick up for just a few minutes here and there.

This is a fabulous quality kit. I highly recommend it (I’m not being sponsored for writing this) and when I see others in this series, I’m going to buy them. It comes with 14 count plastic canvas that has holes small enough to grip the thread. I was wary of trying plastic canvas, but for this type of project, I’m converted. Thank you again Claire 🙂 

IMG_20151019_121113030I was always intending to back it with felt and hang it in the tree with red satin ribbon. However, there are instructions in the pack for making a cord from some of the leftover thread if you prefer. Claire mentioned using fabric glue to attach the backing. I had intended to sew it on but Claire knows best when it comes to finishing. I opened a bottle of fabric glue that I’ve had for years. It sometimes amazes what I find in my craft drawer that I’ve never used. I always knew it would come in very handy one day 😉

What crafty item do you have that you have never used and how long have you it?

Time to fly!

Avis x

Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. claire93

     /  November 4, 2015

    it’s lovely and bright – the cardinal really stands out too, doesn’t he?
    I will have to stitch a couple of the ones I have in the same series.

    Reply
  2. witchylin

     /  November 4, 2015

    That looks really gorgeous. Very kind of Claire to find something so pretty. I hope you can find some more in that series.
    I have a tube of glitter glue, never opened, and it has been in the draw for at least 8 years. I also have a thing for pushing corners out when turning sewn items right side out. It is about 10 years old. 🙂

    Reply
  3. It looks really pretty and I agree Dimensions kits are very good. I have rather a lot of unused craft items, rubber stamps, patterns, paper making items etc. etc. etc..

    Reply
  4. Got everything for printing but haven’t used them yet – over a year since ~I bought them

    Reply
  5. Nice and festive. Dimensions do put excellent kits together

    Reply
  6. That’s lovely and festive looking 🙂

    Reply
  7. Very, very pretty, I can see why you’d want others in the same series. It’ll make a charming Christmas tree ornament. And the perfect size for a small handwork project.

    Reply
  8. Beautiful ornament! You did a great job on it. The biggest craft item that is always on my mind to finish, that I started in the early 90’s, is Marbek’s Nativity. I think I have 2 more panels to stitch, one being the biggest middle panel. Every year I say I will finish it by the end of the year. I really need to get on that. Don’t think I will make it by the end of this year either.

    Reply
    • You could join our SAL. Work at your own pace and report progress every third Sunday. The only rule is to link to the rest of the group in each update post. Fancy a challenge?

      Reply
  9. very beautiful
    Izz

    Reply

Leave a Reply

