Happy Dancing!

Good evening everyone,

Do you remember this blanket that I started to crochet using a load of brightly coloured left over yarn from a previous project?

image

This is me snuggling underneath it while I crocheted more and more and more. Thank goodness it’s been a cool summer so far.

image

Well this is what it looks like now. It’s finished πŸ™‚

image

I promise you it is a perfect rectangle in real life and it didn’t need to be blocked either. I had to climb to the very top of the step ladders and hold the camera against the ceiling to take this photo. I still couldn’t fit it all in properly. With the side of my face pinned to the ceiling, it took a few clicks to get this photo. I couldn’t really see what I was taking and this one is the best of a bad bunch!

I finished the edges with black, then turquoise, then black again and I’m happy with the way it turned out.

image

The finished size of this blanket is 52 x 56 inches and I used Stylecraft Special DK yarn. It’s 100% acrylic and won’t last a lifetime but this blanket has been made to be used. It’s already kept me warm during a chilly June πŸ™‚

Now, credit where credit is due. The free pattern is from Not Your Average Crochet. It’s called the As-We-Go Stripey Blanket. I used the pdf version with the photos. I’m in no way an expert at crochet and the photos plus a couple of Youtube videos helped a lot. I’m so grateful to Hannah for sharing her pattern for free and I’ve learned lots of new stitches from her along the way.

If you want to see more versions of this blanket in different colour ways (I appreciate that my ever so bright colour choice won’t suit everyone), you’ll find lots to inspire you in Google images. Go on, have a go at making one of your own.

Avis x

Leave a comment

25 Comments

  1. Wow! It looks wonderful, Avis. I like all the different colours and row-patterns you used… a kind of “Fair-Isle-crocheting”! It looks really unique!

    Reply
  2. The bright colors look so great! This June & July have been unusually hot in our area, so no knitting or crocheting blankets for me!

    Reply
    • Well, I bought more yarn for a new blanket and promised myself I wouldn’t start using it until this one was finished. Luckily, the weather allowed me to crochet πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. Gorgeous bright colours, just what’s needed to counter a cool northern summer! Guess I don’t have a monopoly on patience, then…

    Reply
    • I’m well known for my patience too πŸ˜‰ However this pattern changes colour and stitch on virtually every row so you never get bored with it.

      Reply
  4. This is beautiful! Learning to crochet is definitely on my bucket list…

    Reply
    • You really must learn. If you can knit, crochet is much easier! It’s all about wrapping the wool around the hook different numbers of times for different stitches. The best bit is that there is only one loop to drop which makes it so much easier to correct mistakes, unlike knitting. Crochet grows much faster too. Go for it πŸ™‚

      Reply
  5. Paardje

     /  July 9, 2015

    It’s so pretty, very visually interesting. Great job! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. claire93

     /  July 9, 2015

    I’ll watch you do your happy dance and maybe you’ll bring on the rain for me ^^
    Great job Avis, this is a stunner and will be wonderful for snuggles.

    Reply
    • Thank you Claire. Now I can get started on the new yarn. I’ve been so patient and kept my promise to finish this one first, tempting though it was to start something new!

      Reply
  7. witchylin

     /  July 9, 2015

    I love the finished blanket Avis. Liked it from the start but more so now. I hope your daughter has changed her opinion now that it is completed. Those colours are so happy. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  8. That is fabulous! Love all the colours; they make the different stitches stand out so well.

    Reply
  9. I like it! ItΒ΄s beautiful πŸ™‚

    Reply
  10. Amazing colour contrast aunty 😊 its splendid !!!

    Reply
  11. This is beautiful, I am making my first crochet blanket at the moment and learning new stitches as go – your blanket is inspiring me to be more adventurous!

    Reply
    • Hi Kay, Welcome to my blog. I have to say it was quite daunting to be doing all these different stitches to begin with but it is amazing how quickly you can pick up new ones when you try. Youtube videos helped me so much. Good luck with your blanket πŸ™‚

      Reply
  12. Your rug is stunning Avis. Beautiful colours and stitches.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

