The Blue House

Hi everyone,

I’d like to introduce another cross stitch project that has been waiting in the wings for a few months. It’s one of the New England homes kits by Bothy Threads, designed by Sally Swannell. I thought it would be nice to get on with this one as it features the Spring time house.

CIMG4088

I imagine this design will stitch up quite quickly (if I get on with it) as the fabric is 14 count aida. The chart is really clear, as is usual for all the Bothy Threads kits that I’ve stitched so far. The finished size should be 21 x 24 cm so it isn’t huge.

Here is my progress to date.

CIMG4089

I’m off to find a comfy chair next to a radiator to do some more sewing. It’s freezing cold and gloomy outside here today! I hope you are having more sunshine than we are here 🙂

Avis x

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. That’s a lovely design and you’ve done loads already 🙂

    It’s raining here. A lot. In fact I don’t think it’s stopped all day. I’ve decided against going for a walk in favour of playing in my craft room.

    Reply
    • Yes, this bit has been done for a while and it’s about time it got finished. I don’t usually put projects to one side so it’ll have to be done now. I shouldn’t have two cross stitch projects on the go at once. It’s against my rules 😉

      Reply
  2. claire93

     /  March 13, 2015

    what I really love about Bothy Threads designs, is their attention to detail. And this one is no exception. I love the little blue bird house up in the tree ^^

    Reply
  3. witchylin

     /  March 13, 2015

    Such a cheerful design and very spring like. Keep warm and keep stitching. It certainly is a cold day in the North East. ;-(

    Reply
    • Yes, it’s quite damp now as well. Next week we get winds from the East which are the worst for us brrrrrrr! When I come home tonight I’m filling a hot water bottle 🙂

      Reply
  4. I love this house, so pretty and fresh! I’ll send you some warmth from Down Under if you’ll send us a little cold. It’s 5.30am, and 26C, and we leave on our trip in an hour, so it’s going to be a warm ride today!

    Reply
  5. Very cute design. I have not stitched a Bothy Threads design yet, but there is one or two on my wish list. This cute little house looks like a nice relaxing stitch. You have already made great progress. Cold here today and windy. We had a tease of Spring yesterday with 65 degrees. The rest of the week will be in low 40’s and windy. I think I will stay inside today 🙂 Stay warm.

    Reply
    • Hi, This one is a dream to stitch and even though I have plenty of other things to keep me busy, it is growing quickly. I also have the haberdashery shop cut thru from Bothy threads to start and I’m looking forward to it 🙂

      Reply
  6. dezertsuz

     /  March 21, 2015

    I could live in that house. =) I love what you’ve done. XS is not my thing, but I love seeing what other people do with it. I hope you are getting spring weather!

    Reply
    • Me too. However, it wouldn’t last long with our sea breeze so I’ll stick with the bricks and mortar 🙂 Spring is here and the daffodils are now in full bloom.

      Reply
  7. What do you do with your finished work? Do you keep them or give them as gifts?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

