SAL Update Block 8

Hello everyone,

It was touch and go as to whether I’d have anything much to show for the last three weeks in the cross stitch department but I made it!

First, this is what made me smile yesterday along with some crafty presents including a new cross stitch kit for a Christmas decoration, buttons for my stash and a handmade needle holder from my lovely friend Claire, not forgetting a gorgeous handmade card. There was also a new quilting ruler from my other half, sock knitting wool from my dear friend Lin (all shades of yummy purple), some Bali Pops and a quilting book from my sister ( she knows a challenge when she sees one!) and my daughter thought it was time to launch me into the 21st century with a smart phone. So now you can see why I was a little bit distracted from sewing yesterday. The recipe links for this cake and a baked cheesecake are in the comments below.

IMG_20150214_192049 (2)

Then, just when I thought my birthday celebrations were coming to an end, I received a phone call from a wonderful family friend, who lives half way around the world in India. Isn’t technology amazing? It was lovely to catch up with him at the end of a great day 🙂

Yes, stitching this block meant burning the midnight oil on my birthday last night but I really enjoyed having the deadline for once. I’d sewn the border a couple of days before and it was a good job I had.

CIMG3936

This is how it looks with the other seven blocks.

CIMG3935

The design is by Whispered by the Wind and both me and Claire are stitching it. All of the other SAL members are stitching something different. Even though my enthusiasm for stitching this piece is waning, I’m enjoying getting it done bit by bit and I’m glad I didn’t push it in a drawer and forget about it. It isn’t the fault of the design or the chart, it’s just that I have other things to do at the moment. Anyway, I really enjoyed the enforced sewing marathon yesterday.

The other crafters in the group are also posting updates today so do pop over to see what they’ve been up to.

We have a new SAL member to introduce this time. Please visit LucyAnn over at LucyAnn and Luna Craft. She is embarking on a Disney design. I’ll be cheering her along with that 🙂

The rest of the group can be found by clicking the following links.

Claire, Gun, Carole, Alison, Jule, Elizabeth, Wendy and Kate.

Our next update will be on 8th March 2015. We hope to see you then.

Avis x

Previous Post
Leave a comment

26 Comments

  1. A very happy belated birthday, and congratulations on your loot! I’m glad you had the dedication to keep stitching despite the distraction; it wouldn’t be the same without you!

    Reply
  2. I do like a nice deadline for making me get stuff done 😉

    Love the latest block, and that’s a lovely lot of Birthday presents you have there. Belated Happy Birthday from me 🙂

    Reply
  3. claire93

     /  February 15, 2015

    well done on block 8 Avis ^^
    I am still amazed that we don’t seem to have stitched a similar block yet. How is that possible????

    Reply
  4. witchylin

     /  February 15, 2015

    I am so pleased you had a happy Birthday and you are now the proud owner of a smart phone. There will be no stopping you from now on. I guess the cake was made by your daughter.
    Your cross stitch SAL is looking great. No sign of the rushed the job to get it ready in time. I do like the colours, the more you do the nicer it looks.

    Reply
    • Yes, we have our own private baker here. I’m told it’s a Victoria Sandwich cake with buttercream frosting and seedless raspberry jam. It’s very calorific and deeeeelicious! Thank you so much for the sock wool. I can’t wait to get started 🙂

      Reply
  5. Well done on completing another block despite all the lovely distractions – oh and a belated Happy Birthday too!
    Alison x

    Reply
  6. A happy belated birthday! 🙂 No need to worry about the time it takes to finish – my butterflies took about fifteen years. I love to have this little deadline now, otherwise some projects would never see the light of day. Thanks for encouraging me to join your SAL. 🙂

    Reply
    • Yes but you also have your UFO Garage which is the best idea ever! I love your UFO lottery. Thanks for joining the SAL. Where else would we have found embroidered beetles and dinosaurs 🙂

      Reply
  7. Happy Birthday!!!!!! I guess it was a perfect day 🙂
    Gun

    Reply
  8. Many Happy Sewing Returns! 😉

    Reply
  9. happy birthday! The design is coming along nicely. I know how you feel about losing enthusiasm for a piece, I usually find it comes back at some stage though

    Reply
  10. Hello Avis… I’m really late but I want to wish you all the best to your birthday too. I see you enjoyed this day and hope you’re fine.
    I started following this blog too. Take care Annett xx

    Reply
  11. Happy Long belated Birthday Avis ! hope its was a good one.. and I love the cross stitch..haven’t picked up my cross stitch project in ages.. but I am hoping soon I will get a chance 🙂
    Izz

    Reply

Leave a Reply

