SAL Update Stage 6

Good morning everyone,

It’s time for another SAL update. Me and Claire are still plodding on with the Quilt cross stitch by Whispered by the Wind and all of the other SAL members are stitching something different.

I have block number 7 to share with you today. Progress is slow but sure.

7 All seven blocks now look like this.

7 blocks

I’ve made lots of changes to this block so it is almost unrecognisable from the chart but I enjoyed stitching it my way and I’m pleased with the result. I still haven’t caught up with Claire. Every time I’m snapping at her heels she speeds off again LOL.

The other crafters in the group are also posting updates today so do pop over to see what they’ve been up to.

Claire, Gun, Carole, Alison, Jule, Elizabeth, Wendy and Kate.

Our next update will be on 15th February 2015. We hope to see you then.

Avis

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. As long as you are sewing it´s OK that Claire is a bit ahead 🙂
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
  2. I love your take on the colours too. You and Claire have the same scheme but the results are so different!

    Reply
  3. witchylin

     /  January 25, 2015

    They are so different when you put them side by side but I think the colours are perfect for them. The interpretations of the design are great. 25 blocks is a long way to stitch but I am sure they will both be fantastic once completed. It is fun to see what the others have been up to as well.

    Reply
    • We are in no hurry to finish which is probably a good thing. It’s nice to do it this way with no real pressure of a deadline, just the motivation of friends 🙂

      Reply
  4. I like that block, and it fits in so well with the others. I’m curious now about what the original design was like, if you’ve altered it so much 😛

    Reply
    • Here is a link to the original post on this project. There are 20 blocks to choose from but only 12 on the cover design. I mainly change the colour placement because I’m working with scraps and simplify the patches as well. Generally, if I think it wouldn’t work as a real patchwork, I change it so it would.

      Reply
  5. claire93

     /  January 25, 2015

    I’m plodding too, so still plenty of time to play catch-up if you want lol

    Reply
  6. When ever I take part in one of these along projects i always seem to end up behind. It dosnt bother me you just keep on going. Your blocks are beutiful.

    Reply
    • That’s why we have no real deadlines in this SAL. It’s good for finishing WIPs or starting new projects. No pressure. You are welcome to join us if you wish. Just drop me an email, address on the right hand side of the page and I’ll send you the minimal instructions 🙂

      Reply
      • Unfortunately, I have too much school stuff on at the moment & a new cross stitch project about to start, as its my friends 50th later on this year, she would like another pooh bear picture ( not my favourite), but another year when they stop fiddling about with exams I might get (good eye sight) time.
        I love watching your project grow.

        Reply
        • I used to teach so I know how hard that job is. Make sure you do get time for yourself. It’s so easy to get caught up in school things and before you know it, another year has flown by. Just remember, you don’t have to do a specific project to join the group, just write a short progress post every three weeks. You are always welcome any time if you change your mind 🙂

          Reply
  7. the block looks great!

    Reply
  8. Looking good Avis
    Izz

    Reply

Leave a Reply

