Cross Stitch Quilt SAL Stage 5

Good morning everyone,

Is it really three weeks since the last SAL progress update?

I don’t have much to show for the last three weeks as far as stitching is concerned but I did finish block six which I’d started last time.

image

All six blocks together now look like this.

image

You will all probably have guessed by now, because of the different format of this post and the photos with rubbish colours, that my laptop has finally given up. It actually overheated on Christmas Day. I’ll have to make do with this small tablet until I get sorted with a new laptop. The WordPress app isn’t this most friendly app to use but it is definitely better than nothing. Why it has rotated my photos without me asking it to I don’t know. I even turned my photos around and uploaded them again in the hope that it would turn them the right way up, but no. It also won’t allow resizing.

My time is not my own at the moment and it’s unlikely to get better in the near future so I’ve discussed with Claire the possibility of setting smaller goals for each SAL update. She is also otherwise engaged at the moment so we have decided to only stitch one block instead of two every three weeks. We are never going to achieve two blocks so the goal posts have been moved. I’ll make an extra special effort to get at least one block done every three weeks. One of these days I’ll catch up to Claire πŸ˜‰

Anyway, the other stitchers in the group are also posting updates today so pop along to see what they’ve been up to. I’m stitching from the same design as Claire but everyone else is doing something different. Just click on their names below to see what they are up to.

Claire,Β Gun,Β Carole,Β Eleanor,Β Alison,Β Jule,Β ElizabethΒ andΒ Wendy.

Our next update will be on 25th January 2015. We hope to see you then.

Avis

Previous Post
Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. The stitching looks great Avis and I do sympathize with you over your lap top 😦 but its good you have a back up.
    Izz

    Reply
  2. It may not be earth-shattering progress, but it is lovely, and that’s more than I managed this time. I’ll be back with you for the next post on 25th January, hopefully. Keep stitching!

    Reply
  3. claire93

     /  January 4, 2015

    looking good Avis, even with photo the wrong way round lol

    Reply
  4. Any progress is good so keep it up, even if life does get in the way sometimes! It still looks lovely and is beginning to grow nicely. Looking forward to the next block.
    Alison

    Reply
  5. IΒ΄m glad to see IΒ΄m not the only one with smaller goals πŸ™‚ There has been no time for sewing at all these holydays.
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
  6. Hope you get your laptop sorted soon. It’s frustrating being without one, even if there is another means of getting online. The WP app is not photo friendly, I’ve found. I’ve shouted at it a few times if using it on my phone.

    Good idea to move the goal posts to accommodate the time that you have available. It’s not fun if you’re struggling to meet a deadline. Love the block you’ve finished off this time πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • My laptop is no more 😦 Luckily I back up my data regularly so that isn’t a problem. I’ll just have to load all the software again and learn how to use Windows 8. It’s probably a good time to trash a few files and make everything much more tidy on the new laptop (when I finally get it).

      Reply
      • As long as you have backup, it’s not too bad. When my Vista laptop went, I’d been backing up, so was ok there, but couldn’t face Windows 8. I thought as long as I had to learn a new system, I may as well get a MacBook.
        It is lovely having a fresh system with all the clutter gone πŸ™‚

        Reply
  7. witchylin

     /  January 4, 2015

    Not to worry if the pictures are upside down and the colours a little ‘out’ it still looks brilliant. πŸ˜‰ Good luck with getting a new laptop. Good idea to move the goal posts a little to catch yourself up when you are really busy.

    Reply
    • My new laptop is ordered but it will take a few weeks to get here. I’ll manage πŸ™‚ I actually prefer using the tablet for everything except WordPress LOL.

      Reply
  8. Small progress but progress at all. πŸ™‚ Have you tried to edit the photo on your WP dashboard? Click on the photo, then click on the little ‘edit’ pen and ‘edit original’. There’s an option to rotate. Maybe that works for you.

    Reply
  9. any progress is good progress and considering how busy the festive season is, you did well.

    Reply
  10. Looking good, love the colours

    Reply

Leave a Reply

