We did it! Join us next time….

Hi everyone,

Guess what day it is today…….it’s Happy Dance day!

At last we have a Happy Dance, me and Claire that is Smile. We’ve now finished Cirque des Cercles by Ink Circles. When we decided this was to be our next SAL project, there was a little doubt in my mind about whether we would ever finish it. However, it looks much more complicated than it really is and it turned out to be the perfect SAL project.

Ta-daaaaaa!

Stage 12

Me and Claire will be revealing our new SAL project next Sunday (28th) and we’ll also be keeping to our three weekly postings from now, along with Gun in Sweden, Jule in Germany and Kate in Australia who are all stitching along on their own lovely projects. Don’t forget to pop along to their blogs to see their progress so far. Just click on their names above. We are all posting some time today Smile.

If anyone else would like to join the SAL, maybe to finish a WIP or to start something new, just drop me an email and then all you need to do is post an update every three weeks on the same day as us, linking to the rest of the group and show some progress. It can be as little or as much progress as you wish but it must be some progress Winking smile. If you don’t have a blog but would love to join in, I’ll happily post a photo of your progress with my updates if you wish. My email address is at the right hand side of this page. You all know you have a project that doesn’t deserve to be left unfinished at the bottom of a drawer. It doesn’t even have to be cross stitch so you have absolutely no excuses. This is the way to get something finished. Go for it!

Now I’m off to choose threads for the next SAL and hopefully there’ll be lots of emails from all of you wanting to join in Smile.

Have a lovely day!

Avis x

Leave a comment

29 Comments

  1. I think I´ll join you in the happy dance. It always feel nice when a work is done 🙂 Your embrodery is so goodlooking!!!!
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
  2. Love it! It’s really interesting how you and Claire are doing the same design but they’ve turned out so differently. I’m looking forward to seeing what you’ll be working on next. And what a great idea to invite more stitchers in!

    Reply
    • That’s part of the fun to do the same thing but something different with it. Hopefully, we’ll get more people in the group. Once every three weeks is manageable for most people to post.

      Reply
  3. claire93

     /  September 21, 2014

    excellent – we are the champions ^^

    Reply
  4. That is fabulous. It really does look a complicated design, and I suspect using the variegated thread adds to that.
    Congrats on the finish 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you 🙂 Anyone who can do cross stitch can do this design. The variegated thread makes it so much easier. I have seen other versions with separate thread colours but part of the fun of this one for me was to let the thread do the talking. I can’t praise ink circles enough for the clarity if the chart.

      Reply
      • BiBiTee

         /  May 27, 2016

        You’ve done a great job! Stitching on black is soo hard. LOL I love the Ink Circles designs too. Bought about 6 of them and can’t wait to start stitching once my final exam is over! Never used variegated thread, though. May I ask which way you used it in this piece? Did you do one x at a time or rows of //// and \\\\\\? Your advice would be much appreciated. Thank you & Happy Stitching 🙂

        Reply
        • Hi, welcome to my blog 🙂 It’s important to stitch one cross at a time with variegated thread. Also, cut a length of thread and use two strands from that length rather than taking one strand and doubling it over . I hope this makes sense. I used DMC shade 111 for this project. It was so much easier to stitch than it looks. Good luck when you try yours 🙂

          Reply
  5. Looks wonderful, great dance, moment

    Reply
  6. Another great finish 🙂 Will it go into a frame as usual?

    Reply
  7. fabulous! I am so impressed that you have finished this lovely, intricate piece. 🙂

    Reply
  8. It looks absolutely fabulous Avis – very impressive, well done! The pattern just looks so good now that it’s finished and your colour choice us lovely.

    I’d like to join you on your next SAL as my Lavender and Lace Angel has kind of ground to a halt and I need something to get me going again. The prospect of having to show some progress, however small, might be just what I need to motivate myself.
    Alison x

    Reply
  9. Congratulations! It looks amazing!

    Reply
  10. witchylin

     /  September 22, 2014

    Well done to both you and Claire. it is amazing how different they look with your thread and fabric colour choices. Looking forward to seeing the next project.

    Reply
  11. well done, it’s a wonderful piece, so much work and it looks so different to Clair’s

    Reply
  12. Crooked Tracks

     /  September 26, 2014

    It’s beautiful!

    Reply
  13. congratulations.. wow.. this really looks magnificent.. 😉 job well done Avis!

    Reply
  14. I know I’m A LOT late on saying Congrats, I love the colours ..Beautiful I don’t know what else to say but Beautiful 🙂
    Izz

    Reply

Leave a Reply

