My Second Pair of Socks

Hello everyone,

It’s about time I showed you what I’ve been up to recently. I’ve just finished my second pair of knitted socks. I knitted the first of this pair ages ago and then got side-tracked on knitted squares for a blanket. I wish I had more spare time to knit socks. I love knitting on four needles because there is minimal stitching up to do at the end.

CIMG3343

I used this wool that my sister bought me as a gift. She bought two balls and there’s still a lot left. Three balls would easily make two pairs like the ones I made. I altered a pattern called Jeck which is free on Ravelry.com by missing out the pattern stitches and knitting in rib and stocking stich only. I did start to knit the pattern but it was totally lost in all the colour changes of the wool so I pulled it out and knitted plain.

CIMG3155

I enjoyed knitting with this wool so much that I’ve now treated myself to some purple as well Smile

I hope you’ve had a very crafty time this weekend!

Avis x

Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. witchylin

     /  May 26, 2014

    They look great Avis. I love the wool and in purple it will be brilliant. Sock knitting is addictive as well I know. Keep going and you will have a draw full of socks like we have. I think I have made 12 pairs so far and there is a sock on the needles at the moment.

    Reply
    • Thank you Lin 🙂 I don’t know what it is about sock knitting that is so enjoyable. Maybe it’s the variety of yarns that are available these days. They are so lovely to knit with. I’ve got quite a way to go to catch up with you!

      Reply
  2. they look super warm! 🙂

    Reply
  3. they look so lovely and cosy 🙂

    Reply
  4. Your socks are beautiful Avis , I had a similar problem with the socks I’m knitting with the pattern getting lost in the colours of the yarn. Happy stitching. …Izz

    Reply
    • Yes, there was no point wasting time on an invisible pattern. I did my last ones with the pattern as it is and they look great. The colours on that wool changed gradually along the length whereas this yarn has quick changes and the different coloured fibres also travel along the length. It was the right decision in this case.

      Reply
  5. HA! 🙂 I´m one sock ahead of you! While waiting for my PC to find different blogs I knit. I´ve finished two pairs for me and now I´m knitting socks for my DH. Yes, we do have a bad connection here on the countryside 🙂
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
  6. claire93

     /  May 28, 2014

    Is there a sock knitting race going on between you and Gun, here?

    Reply
  7. claire93

     /  May 28, 2014

    I’ve just nominated you for the Liebster Award ^^ I realise you’re very busy at the moment, so no obligation to play along

    Reply
    • That’s very kind of you Claire but you are correct. I’m far too busy to accept awards at the moment. I have actually decided not to accept any more, just because of lack of time. Thank you for the nomination. I really do appreciate it 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

