The first finish of 2014!

Hi everyone,

My daughter really does know what I like. She brought me this wool all the way from Stowe, Vermont, USA. As you can see in the photo, the yarn is from an alpaca. Her name is Nessun Dorma and she lives at Sugarbush Alpacas in Stowe. Isnโ€™t it wonderful how we can trace the origin of such wonderful natural products these days, even down to the individual animal that it came from?

CIMG3093

I knitted a neck warmer using this free pattern on Ravelryย and added some vintage leather look buttons from my stash. This has to be the warmest and softest wool I have ever used. It’s gorgeous! Just what I need to keep out the chilly winter ๐Ÿ™‚

_20140118_144806

My crocheted ripple blanket is progressing nicely and Iโ€™ve almost got one motif completed in the Cirque des Cercles cross stitch SAL that Iโ€™m doing with Claire and Izz. Youโ€™ll have to wait a couple of weeks for a photo update on those.

Last but not least, donโ€™t forget to take part in the Chicken Run over at my patchwork blog Oh Sew Tempting. You have to agree to do something fun to be eligible to enter so hop across and see what itโ€™s all about before itโ€™s too late!

Thank you for all your lovely comments. Have a wonderful weekend Smile

Avis x

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. claire93

     /  January 18, 2014

    I’m joining in your happy dance and sending hugs to Nessun Dorma who so generously contributed to keeping you warm and snuggly this winter ^^

    Reply
  2. witchylin

     /  January 18, 2014

    Sure Nessun Dorma would be happy to know she had sent her fleece to such a happy recipient who made something so soft out of it. I do like the neck warmer it will be less bulky under a jacket than a scarf and twice as warm.

    Reply
    • I hope so ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve wanted to make a neck warmer for reasons of less bulk for ages but never got around to it. This one fits very nicely under my car coat and doesn’t get in the way when I’m out and about.

      Reply
  3. Anonymous

     /  January 18, 2014

    Love the neck warmer. The pattern, the buttons, it looks so neat and comfortable to wear.

    Reply
  4. I love Alpaca. That looks really snuggly ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  5. Loving the leather buttons! The colour is amazing too.

    Reply
    • Ha-ha! The buttons have now been changed to creamy coloured ones. A friend of mine wasn’t keen on these ones and I trust her judgement. I’ll save them for something else ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  6. I love your neck warmer, I’ve knitted a couple of items with alpaca. You’re right, it is soft and beautiful yarn, very nice colour too
    ………Izz

    Reply
  7. alpaca is gorgeous ysrn, I have been looking for neck warmer pattern for ages, think this would be perfect

    Reply
  8. Your neck scarf looks lovely. I have been making those type of pidge scarves all year and I like the pattern in this one. Thank you for the link, I have printed it out. I think it is neat that you were able to trace the yarn back to the animal it came from. I did not know that was possible.

    Reply
    • The photo and name of the alpaca was attached to the Sugar Bush company label. It was a nice touch. If using the pattern again, I would knit it shorter than the length suggested. This scarf is nice for under coat and I love the texture ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  9. Now you can see that sweet alpaca when you wrap up your neck. I like the buttons!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

