Is it bright enough?

Hi everyone,

This work in progress jumped out of the cupboard at me…literally! I’d been meaning to get it out again to finish it before the end of the winter as it is lovely and warm to sit under while I crochet. When I opened the cupboard door to get something else, a huge black bag tumbled out containing this unfinished ripple blanket.

CIMG3084

I’m onto the sixth repeat of eight colours and the intention is to try to do one stripe (two rows) each day until it is finished. I have 19 more stripes left to complete. In the photo, it is draped over the sofa and it more than completely covers it already. So it is going to be a monster, easily big enough to cover the double bed Smile. Whether anyone will be able to enter the bedroom without being sent into some kind of psychedelic trip will remain to be seen. Is it bright enough for you? 😆

CIMG3085

The pattern has been made very simple by Lucy over at Attic24. It is a lovely blog full of brightly coloured crochet goodness and her tutorial pattern for the ripple blanket is here if you want to try it. The only thing I would say if you do try the pattern is to make sure you create a slack starting chain. Alternatively, use a bigger hook than for the rest of the blanket. Mine bunched up badly the first time and I had to pull it out and start again.

I hope the New Year has got off to a crafty start for all of you too!

Avis x

 

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. I like the bright colors! Great advice about the starting chain situation. I’m going to remember that one! 🙂

    Reply
    • Yes, it was quite frustrating at the time because I hadn’t followed a crochet pattern before and I was quite new to crochet too. The first couple of rows of this pattern set the foundation. After that, it’s quite straightforward 🙂

      Reply
  2. witchylin

     /  January 7, 2014

    I love the colours they are happy and make me smile. It is going to be so cosy when it is done. If this winter is as cold as forecast you will be so warm sleeping under the ripples. 🙂

    Reply
    • I like the colours too but I do accept they won’t be to everyone’s taste LOL. I’m already benefitting from the warmth as I crochet underneath it 🙂 Keep smiling!

      Reply
  3. ooohhh… i love the designs at Attic24.. Lucy is really great with all the crochet tutorials.. Your’s has been turning out well too. Love the colours.. hopefully i will attempt this blanket one day.. 😉

    Reply
    • Me too! The tutorials are very clear with great photographs too. The only reason I put this one in the cupboard unfinished was that the weather warmed up. I couldn’t bear to sit under it any longer. I’m sure you’d enjoy making a blanket too 🙂

      Reply
  4. Your colours are super. I love it.

    Reply
  5. Yellow is missing, Avis! Looks beautiful and bright enough! I’m stucked to my crocheted flower squares – hope to finish soon. x Teje

    Reply
    • You are quite right about the yellow! How did I miss that? Over a year ago I saw your lovely crocheted blanket made from hexagons on your blog and I’ve wanted to make one since then. I was given a book for Christmas with lots of different hexagon patterns to try….so guess what’s coming next? Avis x

      Reply
  6. As I’m nearing the end of another blanket, I am contemplating starting another (of course!). It might be a ripple as I haven’t done one of those yet. Thanks for the tips. Yours is stunning.

    Reply
    • I’ve enjoyed making it so far but I want to finish it now so I can start another. This is my very first crocheted blanket but it won’t be the last. I plan to make one like your mixed squares masterpiece and another like Teje’s hexagonal one. Isn’t it lovely to be surrounded by so much inspiration?

      Reply
  7. claire93

     /  January 7, 2014

    wow you might need your sunglasses on indoors when that’s on your bed lol

    Reply
  8. I’m going to need to buy some sunglasses…

    Reply
  9. I love your colours! They are going so nice together 🙂 Me……..I´m sewing like mad these days. The weather is grey, so what else can you do 🙂
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
  10. Beautiful blanket! I think the colors are awesome.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

