Throwing down the gauntlet!

Happy Saturday everyone and a special warm welcome to my new followers!

You may remember this lovely hand dyed yarn that I bought on the Waternish Peninsula, Isle of Skye from Shilasdair.

CIMG2988Well, it now looks like this Smile

CIMG3003

The pattern was free from Ravelry and it is called Easy Peazy Shawl 2.0, designed by a very generous lady called Megan. It always amazes me that crafters are so willing to share their ideas. Thank you Megan Smile You can visit her blog by clicking here. Megan also has other patterns available and I’m sure I’ll be knitting more of them as this one was really well written. I did change it very slightly at the end because I only had 660 yards of yarn and the pattern requires 770 yards. Basically, I omitted the final repeat pattern and added an extra border. It’s certainly big enough for me. I haven’t knitted with a circular needle before. However, this shawl is knit back and forth rather than in the round. I’m really happy with the result. I haven’t blocked it yet but I don’t think it needs to be so I probably won’t bother.

Here is a closer view of the bottom point. This wool is soooo soft and snuggly.

CIMG3008

Now for your challenge….

My daughter has bought me a little prezzie.

CIMG3025

This lovely little bundle is from Kate Sharp near Edinburgh. She has her own sheep and spins and dyes her wool. Unfortunately, I don’t think she has a web site but she sells wool like this at the Edinburgh Farmer’s Market if you’d like to pop along and buy some of your own.

The only problem is, I only have 30 (yes three zero) grams of this wool. Your challenge is to suggest something I could knit with 30g of double knit (8 ply) yarn. If it helps, there are 90 yards altogether. If you could recommend a particular pattern at the same time, that would be great.

I’m all ears!

Avis x

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Your shawl looks beautiful Avis. But I’m not a knitter so not much help with your problem. It’s a tough one… 30g is not a lot. Unless you combine it with another yarn?

    Reply
  2. witchylin

     /  November 10, 2013

    The shawl is gorgeous Avis. The shades are beautiful. It does look very soft and warm.
    You really have set a challenge with the 30g of 8 ply. Like Patch I think it will have to be incorporated with another yarn. What about a pull on hat using the 30g around the edge and a different yarn for the crown part. You could repeat that with a pair of mittens or gloves. Or knit a scarf with rows of different yarn and make stripes using the Kate Sharp yarn. Just a few thoughts, however I am sure some of your extra crafty followers will think up some better ideas. 😉

    Reply
    • I agree, adding it to other yarn will probably be necessary. She just saw it and thought of me which was nice 🙂 The colours are a bit more vivid in real life, quite citrus I think.

      Reply
  3. Hi Avis! What a beautiful shawl you have knit! I’m just wearing my old old and would love to make new one like yours! Hard to think what to make with so beautiful but less yarn with so lovely colour. Have a loely Sunday! x Teje

    Reply
  4. Your shawl is gorgeous! You’re giving me ideas. 😉
    I agree to use the 30 grams as an accent colour on another project. My first thought was ‘crochet a coral’, but this would be a waste of some fine yarn. 🙂

    Reply
    • Hi Jule, I don’t even wear shawls but maybe I’ll put this one around my shoulders in my cold sewing room. I enjoyed knitting it a lot. The colors of the yarn remind me of the lichen on dry stone walls. It probably would make a great coral. You’d make a fab job of that 🙂

      Reply
  5. claire93

     /  November 10, 2013

    your shawl is simply beautiful – and will be very practical for keeping you warm while crafting this winter.
    Sorry, but still no ideas for your 30g ball of yarn . . . thinking cap is on, but nothing is springing to mind other than booties lol

    Reply
  6. The shawl looks great!! I´m sorry to say, but I don´t have a clue of what you´ll knit with that other beautiful yarn 🙂 Love the colours. Too bad you haven´t got more of it !
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
  7. oohh.. love the knitted piece.. thank you for sharing the pattern link. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

