Happy dancing!

Hello to all the lovely crafters around the world. Today, I have a finish to show you.

I have now finished both socks, the first pair I have ever knitted, and I’m so pleased with them. I ummed and aaahed and asked lots of questions about knitting socks on my other blog about a year ago and then never got around to knitting them. Some of you had great suggestions. I signed up for a Craftsy class for knitting toe-up socks (which I still haven’t looked at) and then found this free pattern on Ravelry called Jeck for a cuff-down version. The yarn is Opal brand and it’s made in Germany but mine was purchased in the UK by my daughter at a craft fair. The label says “Pullover & Sockenwolle 100g”.

CIMG2981

CIMG2984

CIMG2986

As a complete coincidence, my daughter was buying me wool at a craft fair while I was visiting the Isle of Skye buying more wool. We visited a wonderful shop called Shilasdair. It could actually be described as a small visitor centre as there is a video set-up showing all of the different processes of hand-dyeing the wool they sell and I found it very interesting. Shilasdair uses lots of lovely natural dyes and the colours are stunning. How could I leave without buying some?

This is what I bought. Isn’t it similar to the wool my daughter bought for me?

CIMG2988

The lady in the shop explained that the blues are dyed with indigo but the shades are just like the blaeberries on the label.

CIMG2991

My Shilasdair wool is a mix of cashmere, baby camel, angora and merino lambswool so it is very soft. It is labelled as a luxury double knit weight.

Now all I have to decide is, will I be knitting socks or a scarf with this new wool? I’m drawn towards a scarf this time due to the heavier weight of this yarn, maybe something quite lacy……but then I enjoyed knitting the socks so much on four needles. I could always shop for other sock yarn….decisions, decisions.

Happy crafting!

Avis x

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

25 Comments

  1. claire93

     /  October 13, 2013

    woohoo – love the socks !!!
    and will be waiting with baited breath to see if you use your Shilasdair yarn for socks or scarf.

    Reply
  2. lisasff

     /  October 13, 2013

    oh! they’re lovely! I may have to try that pattern too!!

    Reply
  3. Thanks for visiting/following my blog! Your first pair of socks looks really great – I love the stripes! I cast on for my second pair within a week after finishing the first. Socks are addicting!

    Reply
  4. They look great, especially as they were your first pair. How did you cope with four needles?? There’s a how to knit socks workshop in November I am considering going to…. bit outside my comfort zone…. need to remember how to knit first!!

    Reply
    • I coped well with four needles after the heel on my first pair. Problem was, I was knitting inside out and had no idea LOL! I kept turning the knitting to take a look at the progress but, on one occasion, I forgot to turn it back before knitting some more. Suddenly, it was much easier to knit (the right way) and I was flying after that. It didn’t affect the look of the knitting thankfully. I’d say “Go for it!”. It was a real challenge for me but now I’m hooked 🙂 I’ve even learned how to do Kitchener stitch on Youtube to graft the toe. No seams on these socks at all. It’s magic!!

      Reply
  5. Hi Avis! Your socks turned out fantastic! Beautiful colour and pattern! I finish soon also the first pair for this autumn – finally! Your new yearn must be gorgeus! I would suggest scarf because it may not be so strong for socks. Something lacie as you said would be beautiful. Colour is perfect! Those berries look exactly like the Finnish ‘mustikka’; I call them blueberries and when eating them you get purple mouth. We eat them also with milk and the milk comes beautiful purple colour! I miss so much knitting and would love to make a small shawl, but no time. Enjoy your knitting and have a lovely week! x Teje

    Reply
    • Hi Teje 🙂 I think you are correct. The new wool will be too delicate for socks. We also have blueberries here and bilberries too, which are my favourites. They are not to be served on a table with white linen 😉 I was sure I was following both of your blogs but have just noticed I wasn’t following this one. How did that happen?? No wonder I have missed some of your posts. I promise to catch up very soon. I now need to decide on a patchwork block to use for a very special present. It’s a secret for now…
      A wonderful week to you Teje! Avis x

      Reply
  6. witchylin

     /  October 13, 2013

    I am so pleased you finished the socks Avis. They look great, love the colours of the wool.
    I would knit a scarf with the Shilasdair wool.Too soft and pretty for socks that mostly are hidden. That is a place I will certainly be visiting next year when we are in Scotland. Going back to knitting socks, it does become addictive and they knit up so quickly. Fun for the winter evenings. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you 🙂 It is definitely worth a visit. The approach is spectacular and there is a lovely village called Stein just around the corner too. Yes, I think I will be knitting a scarf next. I’m now toying with an Aran style pattern with lots of lovely cables. I might write it myself LOL! It always takes me ages to decide what to do.

      Reply
  7. I bet you can do a lovely happy dance wearing those beautiful socks. I bought a couple of sock knitting books and I’m going to have a go soon. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  8. Twa are better than yin – whether it’s socks or skeins of blaeberry wool. 😉 You even managed to make the socks match in colour – fantastic! Lucky as I am, I would have ended up with two different ones. I’m sure the blaeberry wool would make a great scarf. 🙂

    Reply
  9. Love the socks – I’m gonna look up that pattern. Also, for knitting small things in the round I’ve discovered these: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002JQ07K6/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER While they might seem tiny, once I got used to them they were SO MUCH better than changing needle to needle with double pointed ones.

    Reply
    • Hi and welcome to my blog. I love those small circular needles. This is what blogging is all about. Thank you so much for the link! I had no idea you could buy these. I’m sure they’d be great to knit with…… I’m going to see if we can get them in the UK. Avis x

      Reply
  10. Lucky you! I never got to the foot when I was knitting socks. Toooo boring 🙂
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
    • Oh no! Not boring 🙂 I just picked them up when I had a few minutes here and there. They grew all by themselves (well almost). I’m sure you could make the most bright and cheerful socks in the universe if you wanted to. Avis x

      Reply
  11. Jeck is a great pattern and your socks are lovely 🙂 But watch out – sock knitting is addictive!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

