It’s time to knit socks!

Hi everyone,

Here’s what I’ve decided to knit with my lovely gift of wool. I haven’t knit anything on four needles before so it is a new challenge for me. I had to restart several times due to making mistakes but once I had a few rounds on the needles it became much less fiddly. I had expected the wool to continue changing colour. However, as you can see, there are longer lengths of blues between groups of mixed colours which have resulted in stripes 🙂

Here is my progress so far….

Image

The free pattern I am following can be downloaded on Ravelry here. So far I’m managing to follow it but I’ll soon be up to the heel and I haven’t done one of those on two needles before so it could be interesting to say the least.

I hope you all have a wonderful crafty weekend ahead!

Avis x

Previous Post
Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. lisasff

     /  September 13, 2013

    Lovely!! I have a few things in my queue, but socks will soon follow!!!

    Reply
  2. witchylin

     /  September 13, 2013

    They are looking great Avis.
    I am knitting a pair of socks at the moment. Do them when I sit down in the evening. That’s not often though. My wool is similar and does make a nice pattern.

    Reply
    • Yes, it was a nice surprise to get the stripes. The pattern doesn’t say how long to make the leg part so I hope I have enough for both socks with the length I’ve done. I think I’ll finish one sock and then weigh the wool to see if I still have 50 grams left.

      Reply
  3. Love these colours Avis. Sock is knitting up beautifully. 🙂 Linda

    Reply
  4. Gorgeous yarn Avis, beautiful colour. I’m not a keen knitter. I can do it but it doesn’t grow quick enough. But I would quite like to have a go at socks. Hand knitted socks are special.

    Reply
    • I agree. It is growing slowly and the wool and needles are tiny but it is a fun project to pick up and put down when I have a few minutes to spare. I can recommend the Opal yarn. It comes in several colourways.

      Reply
  5. Love the yarn! I’m currently using similar yarn – the multi coloured part plus some green – for a scarf, together with some variegated grays (when I’m not into computer troubleshooting like the whole of today). Can’t wait to see them finished. 🙂

    Reply
  6. Ahh, four double pointed needles. I love them for socks, but always feel appreciative when I switch back to circulars for larger projects. If the my project has a cable or something, and I’m using four needles, I always end up losing or sitting on the spares!

    Reply
  7. Beautiful yarn Avis, I love the self stripping yarns. I have a few favourite patterns too. You are going to be hooked on socks lol. It never ends with just one pair :D. Can’t wait to see them finished
    Happy knitting …..Izz

    Reply

Leave a Reply

